Lost and Found

 

ImageI recently went on a crazed search for a book that I KNEW I had on making puppets.  I tore through every bookshelf I have—three times.  I called friends that I might have loaned it to.  I went through the shelves AGAIN.  Nada.

In desperation, I went online to try and figure out the name of the book (of course, I remembered the color of the cover—Aargh!).  Still nothing.  I couldn’t find it.  So, I tried to find something similar in the library.  Nothing in the system even came close.  I looked at videos on YouTube, searched books on Amazon, all in vain.

See, all I wanted to do was make a puppet for story time.  I had made a whole series of puppets from this book years ago for a church puppet show, and remembered that they were quick, easy to make, and looked good, all things that I wanted.  I wasn’t interested (in this instance) in finger puppets, stick puppets, or complicated anything.  I just wanted to make a simple puppet, gosh darn it! 

I tried downloading  a simple pattern from the internet, but that was a waste of time.  I couldn’t get the mouth right to save my life.

So, I gave up.

Thaaaat’s right.  I threw in the towel, cut my losses, and moved on.

I’m a quitter.

So sue me.

Then, a few weeks later, I was helping my husband sort out some of his ministry books when I opened a box marked for his office.  And, you guessed it!  There was my book, in an obviously mislabeled box full of MY books.  Angels sang.  I did an impromptu and (according to my husband) highly amusing happy dance.  I dropped everything to run and deposit the book with reverential honor and trumpets onto my sewing table. (In case you’re curious, it’s this book, which I did not find on Amazon when I was searching, but, of course, now I can find, since I know the title.)

Isn’t it funny how we tuck things away in our lives and then freak out when we can’t find them?  (I know I left the family bible with 10 generations of family history sitting RIGHT HERE.  Where can it have gone???)  And, oh the joy when we find them again!  Being the veteran of more than 20 moves, I can say I’ve experienced this more than once.  I hate the lost bit, but love the found bit.  Happy, happy, happy!

 

ImageSo, anyway.  I made my puppet, and she turned out great!  Her name is Cassandra Wilhelmina Gilhooley.   So named because the little corduroy dress I found for her at a thrift store was monogrammed with a “cGw”.  I found the most wonderful yarn for her hair, and kids love to touch it.  She’s a sassy southern belle who loves children and stories.  A girl after my own heart.

 

ImageI’ve now embarked on another puppet-making adventure.  This guy is made from leftover blue toweling (don’t ask, because I have no idea where it came from, but it probably predates my 24 year old daughter), and has a shirt made from an old T-shirt of my husband’s.  He still needs some purple hair, and I would love to get some wispy, feathery stuff, but it’ll probably just be yarn.

I’m taking suggestions for a name!

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

