Book Review: A Conspiracy of Kings

Image

I enjoyed this book, A Conspiracy of Kings by  Megan Whalen Turner.

Took me a while to figure out who was who and what was going on to the point that I finally looked it up and, lo and behold, this is the fourth book in a series.  Nice to know I’m not losing my mind.

Spoiler alert!

I found it very confusing that the person=leadership=country.  For example, Sophos is the main character’s name, and he is from the country of Sounis.   The king of Sounis is called “Sounis,” as though this is his given name.  Sort of like, “Hey, Sounis! Come here!”  When Sophos becomes king he is then called Sounis.  Sounis king of Sounis.  His uncle (king before his death) is also called Sounis.  The author uses the names interchangeably throughout the story.  Sophos is Sounis, and uncle is Sounis, and the darn country is Sounis.

Throw in three more royals, all with country titles and given names used interchangeably and you can see why I might have been pulling my hair out trying to figure out who was who and where the heck they were from.  Add into that the fact that this is the fourth book in the series, so the author is assuming that I know stuff I don’t know.  I was starting to get pretty testy.  I’m sure you can see why.

And yet, I enjoyed the story enough to put the others in the series on hold from the library.  I loved the fallibility of Sophos, his self-doubt and humility.  I loved how he went from feeling sorry for himself to becoming the champion of his country.  His love for Eugenides, a fellow royal, made me want to love him, too.  Apparently, the other books are centered around Eugenides, so I should be able to get my fill of him.

And, after all, I know how the stories end!

This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

