Book(s) Review: The Thief (The Queen’s Thief Series)

TheThiefAug05 QueenOfAttoliaAug05KingOfAttoliaAug05

Ho, boy, am I glad that I decided to get the rest of the Conspiracy of Kings quadrilogy.  Wow.  For starters, they were a much easier read.  Not only because I had already lived in the world for a while and knew the characters, but because the tenses and point of view didn’t shift around so much.

But my, how I loved Eugenides.  The hero with a conscience who plots and worries and steals and schemes.  He is so very, well, human, and is the smartest guy in the room.  Well, maybe except for Attolia, but she was getting some unfair help, and I won’t tell you who in case you haven’t read it.

After reading it, I learned that The Thief was a Newbery Honor Book for 1997.  Now I’m going to have to go back and see what book won the award for that year, because it would have to be pretty darn amazing to beat out The Thief.

(Update:  I went and researched the Honor Book for 1997.  It was The View From Saturday.  Well, grumble, grumble, grumble.  Okay.  I can see it.  I really enjoyed that book, too, as well as Belle Prater’s Boy which was an Honor Book that year as well.  Stiff competition, there.)

This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

