Beaded Ribbon Necklace Program

Necklace for Program Promotion

Necklace for Program Promotion

I love getting a chance to teach adult crafts.  I especially love it when someone comes in (as was the case last night) and says “I don’t know why I’m here—I can’t possibly make this.”  And then they not only make it, but they fall in love with it.

Last night, we make beaded ribbon necklaces.  My boss, Jean, had a whole bunch of beads left from a craft program a few years ago, and announced to me that I was going to be teaching a jewelry making program, and could I please use up those beads.  The problem was that it was such a hodge podge of different styles and colors of beads, and not enough of any one particular kind or color to teach a group of people a particular necklace, bracelet, or whatever.  Every design I brainstormed came up requiring that we purchase additional materials, or took too long to manufacture (say, for instance, paper beads).  Jean agreed that she would be willing to purchase a few materials, but not more beads.

I searched Pinterest, Google Images, and jewelry making sites, and finally created this beaded ribbon necklace.  We purchased the ribbon and some head pins and we were in business.  I played with the design, figured out how everything needed to work, and developed an instruction sheet.

Beaded Ribbon Necklace

Beaded Ribbon Necklace

I’m going to plead absentmindedness brought on by allergy medication for the reason that I didn’t get any photos of the program, but here’s a photo of the necklace I did during the program presentation.  After the program finished, the ladies in attendance gave me an ovation, so I guess they were happy with it–their evaluations sure seemed to indicate it!

Demonstration Necklace

Demonstration Necklace

This entry was posted in Library Program and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beaded Ribbon Necklace Program

  1. Morrisa says:

    The necklaces are lovely. Good creativity, Girl! Your #1 Yuma fan………….!!!

  2. e1aine says:

    I love this. I also work for libraries and got roped into something like this, but it was so stressful that I’m not sure I’m up to doing it again; Well done.

    • awnali says:

      I love teaching craft programs. I’m a natural teacher, and I enjoy doing crafts as a hobby, so this feels like a comfortable transition for me. Still, this was a stretch for me, to come up with something pretty enough that I would wear it myself using only the materials provided. Thanks for the compliment!

Leave a Reply

