Tuesday Date Night

Cherry Cheesecake Pie.  So Good!

Cherry Cheesecake Pie. So Good!

Because our lives have gotten crowded and busy lately, my husband and I instituted Tuesday Date Night.  Our plan is to take turns figuring out what to do.  As the more creative of the duo, I volunteered to take the first TDN.

What followed, much to my surprise, were days of angst.  An overachiever by nature, I didn’t want our first date night to be plebian, so it had to be more than dinner and a movie.  We ALWAYS do dinner and a movie because that’s my husband’s knee jerk date night plan.  I wanted to surprise him with different and unusual.  Problem was, it also had to be cheap.  Finances are tight right now and I really wanted to do something creative without spending much if any money.  Yeah, I don’t have perfectionistic tendencies at all.

My go-to resource, the library, had nothing on the calendar.  Unless, of course, I wanted to sign us up for an Excel I class, which I emphatically did not.  Next, I Googled the date and my city which led me to a calendar of events for my area.  Everything on it was either too expensive, too early in the day, or too late at night (10:30pm karaoke?  Don’t you people have jobs to go to on Wednesday?  Get some sleep!)

So, I turned to a list that I complied from different websites a few years ago when I was teaching a seminar on “Dating Your Mate.”  That had loads of wonderful ideas.  I really wanted to do some of the outdoor ideas, but my husband attracts mosquitoes like ants to sugar, and it was supposed to be hot and muggy.  You see why this involved days of angst?

I was slowly giving up my perfectionism.  Then, my husband announced that because of a heavy workload he might have to put in some overtime.  That settled it.  Dinner and a movie was it.  BUT, I was going to make it special if it killed me.

First of all, spaghetti and salad for dinner (hey!  Don’t knock it.  It’s my husband’s favorite!).  I ordered my darling son to find another place to exist from 5pm until 10pm, and he graciously complied.  I broke out my red checked tablecloth and cloth napkins, and red and white pillar candles.  I set the table prettily.  Then, I made a cherry cheesecake pie.  In case you don’t have a recipe for this amazing dessert:

Cherry Cheesecake Pie

1 9” graham cracker crust

1 8oz pkg softened cream cheese

1 14oz can sweetened condensed milk

1/3 cup lemon juice

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 21oz can cherry pie filling

 

In large mixer bowl, beat cheese until fluffy.  Gradually beat in s.c. milk until smooth.  Stir in lemon juice and vanilla.  Pour into crust.  Chill 3 hours or until set.  Top with pie filling before serving.  Smack your momma ‘cause it’s so good.  (The picture is from http://www.dialoguetix.com/cherry-cheesecake-pie/ because I forgot to take a picture of ours before it was gone.  Num, num!)

 

To Catch A Thief

To Catch A Thief

Next, I cued up “To Catch a Thief” with Cary Grant and Grace Kelly on our Netflix.  I pulled our sofa out of place so that it centered on the TV (usually, we sit in our recliners across the room from each other—romantic, I know.)  I emptied the coffee table, covered it with some quilts, and pulled it up next to the sofa to create a sort of “double recliner.”  Then, I piled in a bunch of pillows.

When hubby got home, I cooked dinner while we talked over his day.  After dinner, I cleaned his clock in a few games of Othello (he is getting better, though), and then we took an evening stroll with the dog.  We got home and settled in to the movie while devouring our cherry cheesecake pie.  Ahhh….

All in all, our first inaugural Tuesday Date Night was a smashing success.  Even though it WAS the usual dinner and a movie, it WASN’T at the same time.  We got to spend a lot of face-to-face time and relax together.  We didn’t have to worry about anyone overhearing sensitive information, rude waiters or food we didn’t like.  We did have to do the dishes, but the price was certainly right.   And, even though we’ve seen the movie before, it’s been years, and it’s a movie worth watching again.

What about you?  What are your go-to dates?  What’s your favorite no/low cost date?

This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tuesday Date Night

  1. Pat Joseph says:

    Awnali- I really enjoy your blog. Our “date” nights are few and far between during the summer, when John works all day, and then mows in the evening. BUT, in the winter, we often take Saturdays and go looking at flea markets and other special places.

    Looking forward at this moment to the guys coming home TOGETHER. Johnroy’s 10 anniversary of his high school graduation is this year, and since this was an especially tight knit group (and most of them live in Greenville…surprise, surprise!) they are all coming up together. I even got an invitation! It said “The class of 2003 invites you to a dinner at the house of Mr. and Mrs. John Joseph, etc.etc. on September 17.” What fun! Nice to have a house that will hold a gathering (more than the old one.) Said house, incidentally is almost done, exc for the landscaping, which they will be helping with. (ONLY 15 months in the making!) Anyhow, Bob is tagging along. This is the first time either of them have had a WHOLE WEEK off!

    LOVE the blog!

Leave a Reply

