Date Night 2

Image

This week, it was Hubby’s turn to plan date night.  Like me, he pondered several different options.  He got a bit grim when I told him that we couldn’t spend much money (we even had a pow-wow with Quicken to ascertain that, yes, I did know what I was talking about.)  His plans were:

1.  Dinner and a movie (I’m telling you, the man has a knee-jerk reaction to date night!!!)

2.  Dessert and a walk at a local park

3.  Dessert and a walk at a different local recreation area/park.

4.  Just a movie.

Various restaurants were floating around as possibilities in his head for the dessert portion of the evening, once option one was taken off the table.  He presented me with various options and then melted my heart when he said, “Of all the options, I like the movie the least because I can’t sit and look at you and talk to you.”

Awww, my heart just melted again!  I puddle for you, Baby!

I voted for Dairy Queen (because then I didn’t have to change out of my comfy lounge pants—I’d had a hard day.) And off we went.

Image

We ate our ice cream, sat on a bench, watched fishermen, and talked.  It was peaceful, man!  It was so lovely, that I wanted to share it with you.

Told ya!  That’s peaceful.

Then we conquered the local swing set, and I have to tell you I Must Have One Of These In My Backyard.  NOW.  I could exercise on one of these all day long!  It’s been so long since I’ve been on a swing set, and now I remember why I used to do this for hours as a kid!  I giggled insanely until the set started creaking in a dangerous sort of way and made me nervous—I weigh more now than when I was a kid, and had no desire to end up in the ER with bad swing set injuries (This is my past talking.  Once, when I was about 6, on the Fourth of July, my dad was pushing my brother and I on a swing set when we got to going Really High in the same direction at the same time.  The swing set got enthusiastic and fell over, landing on my neck and knocking me unconscious.  I woke up in the hallway with adults leaning over me, and spent 200 years in an ER, miserable and hurting until a doctor assured my parents that I was fine.  I have no desire whatsoever to repeat this experience.)

After I ground the soles of my shoes into nothingness in an attempt to get off the swing before the Swing Gods became angry, we wandered off alongside the river and gently chased a gaggle of geese off into the water.  I kid you not, they took off at the count of three—Honk…Honk…Honk and away!  Too funny!

Image

Altogether, it was a very successful date night.  We both got to de-stress, get some face time, and enjoy each other’s company.

Wait a minute.  It’s my turn next week!  What’ll I do???

This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

