Thrift Store Haul

Thursday was a whirlwind day, but the highlight was getting to take my son to get new tires.  While we waited on those, we hit three thrift stores in search of new pants for him.  I’ve mended and mended his pants until it was time to break down and buy some more.  This kid is hard on his jeans!  This was our haul:

Goodwill haul

He got two pair of jeans and one pair of cargo pants.  I got a stuffed elephant who is going to make a great centerpiece in a Horton Hears a Who display for the library.  I got a stuffed dog and a stuffed cow who are good candidates for a Great Puppet Makeover.  I found a Lord of the Rings, The Fellowship of the Ring DVD that we only have in VHS, a copy of The Velveteen Rabbit for a friend of mine, and a copy of Does a Kangaroo Have a Mother, Too? by Eric Carle that I’m going to cut up and turn into a flannel board.  Yes, I know, it’s sacrilegious,  but cut-up books make great flannel boards, and this book has pictures on only one side of the page, so it should be easy-peasy.

Don’t know when I’ll have time to do the puppet makeovers, but I’ll be sure to post pictures when I do!

Don’t you just love thrift stores?  They’re my happy place.

This entry was posted in General Library, Home, Library Display. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thrift Store Haul

  1. Pingback: What is your home office space like? – slimegreen

  2. Pingback: Making Puppets | The Librarian Is on The Loose

Leave a Reply

