Baby Quilts for Charity

Image

So, in my spare time (ha!) I’ve been a busy beaver.  One of my friends had the brilliant idea to put together a craft booth to raise money for training midwives in third world countries.  (I just looked and CAN NOT find the Facebook post where we discussed this, or I would include the website).  She suggested that people in our church donate some things they made, we would sell them and donate the profits.

I found this tutorial for the Disappearing Nine Patch that worked perfectly for me.  When I have material scraps that aren’t strips and aren’t enough to really save, then I stash them in a large Coca-Cola tin bucket I have.  When it’s overflowing then I take a few days and cut up the fabric into squares.  I cut the largest squares I can, starting with 6 ½” and going down as small as 2 ½”, always in 1” increments.  I then stash the squares for whatever scrap quilts need to be made. 

These little baby quilts were a perfect way to use up some 4 ½” squares.  I first figured out how many blocks I would need for the size I wanted, then sorted my scrap blocks into color families.  I figured I had enough go-together-nicely blocks for 3 quilts (and I was right!).  The pieced parts of the tops took me (no joke) about 40 minutes to make, each.  Add some borders, piece together some batting scraps and find some pieces big enough for the backings and Ta-Da!  Baby quilts.  I machine quilted them (the first one was ridiculously ambitious and I did WAY too much quilting on it—silly wabbit!).  And now they’re done!

At any rate, I was happy to use up some scraps, and delighted to find such a nice pattern that looks so complicated but is so easy to do.  I might try doing another, larger project using the same pattern later.

How about you?  Do you ever make things to give away?

This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby Quilts for Charity

  1. Ashana M says:

    I have a baby quilt I’ve been working on for 10 years now probably. I just got busy. I’m not really sure what to do with it now.

  2. awnali says:

    Where are you in the process? Sewing or quilting?

Leave a Reply

