Dr. Seuss Display

Okay. I admit it. I’ve been bad.
But I have a fantastic excuse!
Lots of things have happened since my last entry. Christmas, for one. And, well, Easter for another, but that’s beside the point. The two huge reasons that I haven’t posted anything are that 1) I got a job! I’m the Children’s Reference Assistant at an area library, which might very well be one of the best jobs in the world. 2) We bought a new house, had to do some extensive renovations on it, and then move in.
Yes, that’s right.
I was learning a new job, renovating, and moving all at the same time. See, I wasn’t being neglectful, I was furiously dog paddling, trying to keep from going under. I’m sure you understand.
HOWEVER! I have been keeping track of lots of my displays and programs, and will try to catch you up on what I’ve been doing.
The first display I did for my new library was to celebrate Dr. Seuss. Wha? A job where they PAY you to sit around and draw Dr. Seuss fish? It doesn’t get any better than that, folks.

Dr. Seuss display front
My great colleague, Meghan, helped with the lettering on the back of the display.  It says “Oh the sea is full of a number of fish.  If a fellow is patient, he might get his wish!”

Dr Seuss Display back
The other display case has a book cart disguised as a boat filled with Seuss characters.

Dr. Seuss boat

I do apologize for the photo quality.  It’s really hard to get good photos with lights reflecting off of the glass.  Enjoy what you can, though!

This was a great advertisement for our Dr. Seuss party, and I’m sure we would have had a horde of Seuss-mad children attend if only the party hadn’t fallen on the same day as a large snowstorm.  Darn it!  Oh, well.  These things happen.  Still, children were entranced with the displays, and, of course, Seuss books went out like hot cakes.  Always a good thing.

This entry was posted in Library Display and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

