Food Story Time

 

burger boydont-play-with-your-food who ate al lthe cookie dough

In my new job, I do preschool story times.  This week, our storytime was followed by a craft (this happens once a month).  Because of the 6 month lead time, this craft was planned for me before I got here.  Of course, if you’re going to do an ice cream cone craft, you have to do a story time about food right?

So, my books were Burger Boy by Alan Durant, Don’t Play With Your Food by Bob Shea, and Who Ate All the Cookie Dough? by Karen Beaumont.

What I did:

This was so much fun!  I started with my welcome song and had a bunch of plastic vegetables in my magic bag.  The kids guessed what each piece was and we talked about what they had in common (they’re food! J)  Then, we did Burger Boy.  I had them echo “Leave Me Alone!” with Burger Boy, so the book was enjoyed by all and prompted lots of giggling.  Next, we did the flannel “Let’s Pack a Picnic” (made by one of my predecessors).  I handed out all the pieces and had the kids bring them up when I chanted the song (yeah, you’re supposed to sing it, but I find it hard to concentrate on singing unusual words and keeping kids from stepping on each other at the same time.)  Then, we sang “Noodles in my Soup.” Since I can’t find this specific song online, and I don’t have the credits listed in my notes, I’ll post the words for you here.  I suspect that I pulled it from an old magazine, but I’ll be happy to give credit if anyone knows it!

Noodles in My Soup (tune: If You’re Happy and You Know It)

There are noodles, noodles, noodles in my soup,

There are noodles, noodles, noodles in my soup,

There are oodles, oodles, oodles

Of the most delicious noodles,

There are noodles, noodles, noodles in my soup.

(We did discuss what “oodles” means—nice vocabulary building moment!)

Then, we read Don’t Play With Your Food, which was a big winner with the adults, and their laughter prompted the kids to laugh.  I had the kids keep track of how many bunnies were in the pictures, and they were Johnny-on-the-spot with the numbers each time.  I also did my funny monster voice for Buddy, which I, for one, find hilarious (will I date myself if I tell you it sounds like the giant from the Disney movie of Mickey and the Beanstalk?).

Burger Boy and Don’t Play With Your Food are rather long for preschool books, and while I don’t mind one long book in a story time, I was a little apprehensive about two long ones.  But they’re both so fun to read!  After the second long book though, I knew they needed to get some wiggles out, so we jumped up and did the ever popular song “Bananas Unite!”

Next, I did the flannel “Ice Cream Colors” (created by me based on Storytime Katie’s blog post where she creates the flannel).  Then, I finished up storytime with Who Ate All the Cookie Dough?  The kids had a lot of fun guessing who had done the dirty deed, but they were all wrong.

That ended storytime, and we moved on to the craft.  I had thirty people for storytime, and there’s always a few more that trickle in for craft.

Not today.

Try 23 more.  That’s 53 folks for craft, and little ol’ me with enough supplies for 20 kids.

giphy

CRIPES!!

I thought I had prepared plenty for a summer crowd, but not so.  Apparently, although the advertisements for the craft clearly indicated that this was a CRAFT, people thought they were going to be getting an actual ice cream cone.  Not so much.  Nobody was nasty or anything, and I tore around trying to round up extra supplies so that everyone could make their own paper and cotton ball cone.

It was chaos, man!

giphy (1)

Ice-Cream-Cone-from-Cotton-Balls You can find the instructions for the craft here

 

Everyone went home, happily acting like they were licking their imaginary cones.  And then, I needed a nap.

 

This entry was posted in Craft, Library Program, Story Time and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food Story Time

  1. Pingback: Happy Holiday! | Hafuboti

Leave a Reply

