Dinosaur Story time

What would the world look like without dinosaur story times?

It would be a sad, lonely, very quiet place, man.  A world I wouldn’t want to live in.  Fortunately, I don’t have to!

ABC dinosaurs Dini Dinosaur Saturday Night at the Dinosaur Stomp

We had a great time today with our dinosaur story time.  In my magic bag there was a stuffed dinosaur waiting to get us ready for our theme.  We started with an activity to get us all growly, and help us practice our claw-making abilities:

Dinosaur, Dinosaur
Dinosaur, dinosaur, turn around
Dinosaur, dinosaur, touch the ground
Dinosaur, dinosaur, reach up high
Dinosaur, dinosaur, wink one eye
Dinosaur, dinosaur, touch your nose
Dinosaur, dinosaur, touch your toes
Dinosaur, dinosaur, slap your knees

Dinosaur, dinosaur, sit down please
Credit: Modified from Childhood

Once everyone was settled down, we launched into Saturday Night at the Dinosaur Stomp by Carol Diggory Shields.  This is a rollicking good read, and the kids enjoyed it.  Because I’m a nerd, when I was preparing, I read Ms. Shield’s little blurb about how she’d come to write the book and had to share with the adults in storytime that it all came about after her five-year-old called her a nagosaurus!  Too fun!

nagosaurus gif

Then, we got up again and sang

I’m a Mean Old Dinosaur (Tune: I’m a Little Tea Pot)

I’m a mean old Dinosaur  (Make a mean face, the kids make the cutest mean faces)

Big and tall  (Gesture hands big and tall )

Here is my tail, here is my claw.  (Gesture hands behind your back for tail and make claw hands)

When I get all hungry  (rub your tummy)

I just growl  (have the kids exaggerate the grrroooowwwlll)

Look out kids, I’m on the prowl.

(This was pulled directly from preschoolrainbow.org)

I’m tellin’ ya, I love the growls!

Then, we read Dini Dinosaur by Karen Beaumont.  The kids really got a kick out of the silly dinosaur trying to take a bath with his clothes on.

dino flannel

Next, I did a modified version of One Dinosaur Went Out to Play from Mel’s Desk.

One dinosaur went out to play
In a giant swamp one day
She had such enormous fun
That she called for another dinosaur to come:

Raise hands to cup mouth, and call loudly: Oh, Diiiiiiiiiinosaur!

Slap hands on thighs to make “running” sounds.

Two dinosaurs went out to play…
Three dinosaurs…
Four dinosaurs…

Five dinosaurs went out to play
In a giant swamp one day
They had such enormous fun
That they played until the day was done!

I think this might have been the biggest hit of the story time.  The kids helped me call for the dinosaurs and make the running sounds.  They were just bouncing with anticipation until they got to holler again!  Such fun!

Walking with the dinosaurs

Then, ta-da!  I pulled out the iPad and showed them the BBC Earth: Walking With the Dinosaurs app.  I had it queued up to the part where the dinosaurs are walking and making noises.  Of course, I immediately had to order all the kids to sit down, as they all crowded around me.  It would have been fantastic if I could have showed this on a bigger screen, but might have been scarier, too.  We went through a few of the different dinosaurs, listening to their sounds while the kids made excited comments (for the record, not everything is a T-Rex!).  Then, we talked about how we don’t know for sure what dinosaurs looked like or sounded like, but we can make guesses.  Some of the kids were skeptical about this because obviously we could know—we’d just seen them, hadn’t we?

dinosaur gif

After that, I pulled out our last book, ABC Dinosaurs by Jan Pieńkowski.  Although this book is older and doesn’t have any story to it, it is a fabulous pop-up book.  I blundered my way through an alphabet of dinosaurs (yes, there is a dinosaur that starts with an x – xiaosaurus), and the children kindly didn’t correct me, and the parents applauded when I finished.  It’s nice to have an appreciative audience.

 

To wrap up our story time, we got up and did the Dino Pokey from King County Library:

 

Put your claws in. Put your claws out.

Put your claws in and scratch them all about.

Do the dino-pokey and turn yourself around.

That’s what it’s all about.

Put your teeth in… chomp them all about.

Put your feet in…stomp them all about.

Put your tail in…wag it all about.

dinosaur paper plate craft

Because it was the first Wednesday of the month, story time was followed by crafts.  This time it was a T-Rex Paper Plate Craft from Preschool Crafts.  This was one of the crafts planned for me, and it was a real bugger to do.  Adults got pretty frustrated (and that was even with what one adult told me were really good directions), and there were some tears among the younger ones.  It might be fine with a small group, but I had 53 in attendance, so it was bedlam, man!

 

This entry was posted in App, Craft, Story Time and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dinosaur Story time

  1. Pingback: Week Sixty: STEAM Storytime: Dinosaurs! | STEM in Libraries

Leave a Reply

