A Monstrously Good Storytime

By Awnali Mills

To kick off our new story time session, and to celebrate Halloween, we had a Monster story time today.

In my magic bag, I had a couple of bulletin board pictures of monsters reading books.  When I asked what the kids thought the storytime might be about, they roared “Monsters!”

I love when kids roar.

Bedtime at the Swamp

Our first book was the rollicking Bedtime at the Swamp by Kristyn Crow.  I love this book!  Each verse of the rhyming story is followed by the refrain “Splish, splash, rumba rumba, bing, bang, boom!”  I always make the “rumba, rumba” sound like a sports car revving up—it just calls for it!  The kids were wide eyed and totally glued to the book, unsure whether or not to be scared by the monster in the swamp.  Delighted by the ending, they declared it to be “really funny.”

Star Monster

photo by Storytime with Miss Tara

Then we did the flannel Star Monster that I got from Storytime with Miss Tara.  I gave each child a different colored star, and we all sang the little song together as the child with each color star brought it up.  Fortunately, I had the exact amount of stars I needed!  How often does that happen?

Leo jkt FINAL 1/5

Then, we read Leonardo the Terrible Monster by Mo Willems.  As is usually true with a Mo Willems book, the children absolutely loved it.  You should have heard the laughter when Sam explains that he’s crying because a bird pooped on his head, not because he’s scared of Leonardo!

Then, I had the kids get up and do the Monster Pokey.  We put our right and left claws in, our right and left paws, our horns, and our tails.  That got the wiggles out for our next thing: the Sago Mini Monsters app. Carissa has a great review of this app on Little eLit, which is where I got the idea to use it in story time.  We did two monster creations, and then moved along to the last book, Rebecca and Ed Emberley’s If You’re a Monster and You Know It.

If You're a Monster and You Know It

For this, I had the kids stand up.  I sang the story and the kids did the motions, stomping their paws, and wiggling their warts and everything.  And, My Goodness, when they roared!  I mean to tell you, they ROARED!!!

felt monsters

photo by Nifty Thrifty and Thriving

To end story time, I pulled out the usual LEGOS and balls, but I also put up some felt monsters that I created from Nifty, Thrifty and Thriving, and pulled up the Sago Mini Monsters app for play.  The kids had an absolute blast creating their own monsters from the felt pieces, and many played with it for at least 20 minutes.  They were also amazingly good at waiting for their own turns at playing with the app.  Always a nice thing.

The best part?  They took all the monster books I had for check out and asked at the desk for more.  That, my friends, is success!

This entry was posted in Story Time. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Monstrously Good Storytime

  1. Morrisa says:

    Fantastical !!!!!

Leave a Reply

