Put Some Clothes On!

By Awnali Mills

This week, clothing was the theme, and to support this theme I chose Naked Mole Rat Gets Dressed by Mo Willems, Froggy Gets Dressed by Jonathan London, and Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons by Eric Litwin.

Naked Mole Rat Gets DressedFroggy Gets DressedPete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons

I started off by pulling my favorite pashmina scarf out of my magic bag.  I showed how it could be used as a scarf, shawl, head covering, and in a pinch even a skirt or shirt.  Still it was hard for the kids to guess that the wider topic of clothing was our theme.

I read Naked Mole Rat Gets Dressed and then did the flannel Teddy Wore His Red Shirt.  This flannel predates me, but you can see what it is like based on this picture by Sunflower Storytime.  I divvied up the pieces and let the kids dress Teddy as we chanted the rhyme.

From SunflowerStorytime.com

From SunflowerStorytime.com

And a roll of the song cube!

Next, I read Froggy Gets Dressed.  This is always a crowd pleaser, especially when the kids help me call “Frooooggggy” each time Froggy’s mother calls.

And a couple more rolls of the song cube!

Then we did a mitten pair match.  I handed out several flannel mitten cut-outs and kept the matching mitten.  Then, I put up the mittens one at a time and let the children bring up their match.  They’re so cute and intent on getting it right!

Last, the ever-favorite Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons.  I had the kids sing the song with me, and every time I asked if Pete cried about his missing button, the group shouted “NO!”

To finish us off, I told the kids that I was going to bring out a GREAT BIG PIECE OF CLOTH!  Nobody guessed it was a parachute!  We played all our parachute games and had a great time.  There should be some good naps!

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

