Let’s Go Fly a Kite Storytime

By Awnali Mills

Super DuckSomeone BiggerKite Day

Storytime today was about kites.  The books I chose were Super Duck by Jez Alborough, Someone Bigger by Jonathan Emmett, and Kite Day: A Bear and Mole Story by Will Hillenbrand.

In my magic bag I had a paper kite that I made for last year’s kite storytime.  It’s been on the wall by my desk all this time, ‘cause it’s pretty and colorful.

The first book was Super Duck.  This was well received.  The kids were just sure that they would never get the kite off the ground, but they had every faith that Super Duck would save his friend Frog.

Next, we did the flannel Color Kites that I got from Fun With Friends at Storytime.

Color Kites

The rhyme goes: On a breezy spring day/Way up in the sky, / See the many red (orange, yellow, green, blue, purple) kites / Flying high!

I did five of each color kite, and handed two to each child (I had some left over), making sure to spread out all the colors.  Then, when I said their color, the children brought up that color.  Kids love playing with the flannel board, so this was a win.

The second book was Someone Bigger.  This book was a clear favorite.  The kids were absolutely glued to the book and didn’t make a sound unless I asked a question.  I think they all understood what it was like to be told that they couldn’t do something because they weren’t big enough.  And, the idea of all those big people being hauled around by a kite was obviously entrancing!

After that, I felt we needed to get up and move around, so I showed my paper kite again and asked everyone to stand up.  When we’re standing straight and tall, what part of the kite are we like? (The long vertical part)  And when we spread our arms out, what part of the kite are we like? (The shorter, horizontal part.)  Then, I told them that we were going to pretend to be kites.  I put on Let’s Go Fly a Kite from Disney Soundtracks Collection, and we soared all over the room.  I absolutely LOVE this activity.  The song is one of my favorites, and it’s so much fun to put your arms out and swoop all over the room, spinning and dipping.

Five Little Kites

Next, we did the flannel Five Little Kites that I borrowed from Storytime Katie.  The rhyme is:

One little kite in the sky so blue,
Along came another, then there were two.
Two little kites flying high above me;
Along came another, then there were three.
Three little kites, just watch them soar,
Along came another, then there were four.
Four little kites, so high and alive
Along came another, then there were five.
Five little kites dancing across the sky,
What a sight to see, way up so high!

Our last book was Kite Day: A Bear and Mole Story.  This is a fairly simple little story, but it’s short enough that it doesn’t push the attention spans too far at the end of storytime.

For playtime, I pulled out the parachute.  It’s always good to do something special now and then.  We all got our exercise and the kids had a great time.

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

