Book Review: The Dragonets of Destiny by Tui Sutherland

by Awnali MillsDragonets of Prophecy

The Dragonet Prophecy is the first book of the Wings of Fire series.  I listened to the audio book read by Shannon McManus on my commute to work.  And doing my housework.  And sewing.  And maybe a little bit of cooking.

I will confess that I was less than enthusiastic about this book choice.  I’ve been listening to the Stephanie Plum series on the ol’ commute, but could tell it was starting to wear thin to me.  I needed to change things up a bit.  I saw this book in the stacks, and when the audiobook popped up on Overdrive, I sighed and decided to give it a try.  Anne McCaffery spoiled me for most dragon stories.  I love them, but I will always compare them, especially since I was introduced to them in middle school, and The Dragonet Prophecy is an upper elementary/middle school book.

I was not disappointed.

It started out a bit slow for me, and I was fairly sure that I was going to be returning it, but I was trapped with it for 40 minutes, and found myself intrigued enough to let it ride.  Well, I got hooked in and ended up really enjoying it.

The Talons of Peace are determined to stop the ongoing dragon war by fulfilling a prophecy about dragonets who will bring peace.  They gather the dragon eggs that seem to meet the requirements of the prophecy, hatch the eggs, and raise the dragonets in seclusion under a mountain.  Unfortunately, one of the eggs is maliciously broken before it hatches, and the Talons of Peace substitute another egg in its place.

The five dragons, Clay, Tsunami, Glory, Sunny and Starflight, become a close-knit family.  They don’t feel quite as friendly towards their guardians, who don’t behave like parents, but taskmasters who are preparing them to fulfill their destiny.  When the guardians decide that Glory, the substitute dragonet, needs to be killed, the dragonets decide to escape.

Unfortunately, their escape plan drops them squarely into the lap of one of the dragon queens trying to kill them.  All the dragonets end up fighting for their lives.  Will they succeed and fulfill their destiny, or end up like the broken egg?

I have to say that I was a bit surprised by all the blood and gore in the book, especially in the arena scenes.  As much as I enjoyed the book, I thought it was pretty graphic.  SLJ lists it as grades 4-7, but I think the violence might bump it up a bit.  There are seven books in the series so far.  Put this book in the hands of dragon lovers, or kids who enjoy lots of action.

For kids who enjoy audiobooks, this was a good one.  McManus does a good job of acting each individual dragon (and there are lots of sneers going on!)  The distinct personalities of the dragons are clear and enjoyable.

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s