Superhero Storytime 7-1-15

By Awnali Mills

Since this was our first preschool storytime during summer reading, we did a superhero theme.  The books I chose were My Mom has X-ray Vision by Angela McAllister, The Day I Lost My Superpowers by Michael Escoffier, and Mighty Max! by Harriet Ziefert.

My Mom has X-ray VisionThe Day I Lost My SuperpowersMighty Max!

In my magic bag this morning I had a superhero mask that was one of the many that we have at the desk for kids to decorate.  I used this to encourage them to go get one and sign up for summer reading.  Next was a plastic cape that I made out of a tablecloth and some stick on Velcro for my boss’ school visits.  I didn’t wear the mask because, you know, glasses but I did put on the cape and wear it for the whole storytime. (I’m not mentioning who else wears glasses and capes.)

Plastic capes are hot.

Just saying.

Our first book was My Mom has X-ray Vision.  Part of the story is told only in pictures, so I had the kids tell me what was going on.  Interestingly enough, even after SEEING the mom in the story turn into a superhero, many of them STILL insisted that she was just a regular mom!

Next, we sang a superhero song:

Five Superheroes

Put your hands way up high (raise arms up in air)
Like Spiderman spinning webs across the sky (point fingers with palms up)
Swing to the left, now swing to the right (lean to your right, then left)
Now show me your muscles with all your might,(make arm muscles)
Now Spiderman’s putting his suit away (bring arms down slowly)
So he can spin webs another day (rest hands in lap)

Put your hands way up high (raise arms up in air)
Like Batman running to catch a bad guy (pretend to run)
Lean to the left, now lean to the right (lean to your right, then left)
Now show me your muscles with all your might,(make arm muscles)
Now Batman’s putting his suit away (bring arms down slowly)
So he can go running another day (rest hands in lap)

Put your hands way up high (raise arms up in air)
Like Captain America using his shield to protect some guy (pretend to hold shield in front of body)
Jump to the left, now jump to the right (lean to your right, then left)
Now show me your muscles with all your might,(make arm muscles)
Now Captain America’s putting his suit away (bring arms down slowly)
So he can protect the world another day (rest hands in lap)

Put your hands way up high (raise arms up in air)
Like Superman flying across the sky (assume flying position)
Fly to the left, now fly to the right (lean to your right, then left)
Now show me your muscles with all your might,(make arm muscles)
Now Superman’s putting his suit away (bring arms down slowly)
So he can go flying another day (rest hands in lap)

Put your hands way up high (raise arms up in air)
Like Ironman flying across the sky (assume flying position)
Fly to the left, now fly to the right (lean to your right, then left)
Now show me your muscles with all your might,(make arm muscles)
Now Ironman’s putting his suit away (bring arms down slowly)
So he can go flying another day (rest hands in lap)

Credit: Sunflower Storytime

 

Now, I had to practice that and practice that to get all the superheroes and their actions straight, and STILL had to refer to my notes.  With highlighter.  And underlining.  Sheesh.

Our next book was The Day I Lost My Superpowers.  This is a cute little book, but the kids didn’t seem sure about whether or not his superpowers were real or imaginary.  This is kind of a hard age for that, since much of the world is still very magical to them.

Next, we did a short little superhero flannel with some purchased superheroes.  I put up the ten heroes as we sang “One little, two little, three little superheroes…”  Then the kids helped me count as we took them down and they did such a good job counting that I suggested we count everyone in the room!  First, I had them estimate how many people were in the room, and then we all counted together.  I use my whole hand to point to people as we count.  We had 49!

Next we sang:

If You Want to be a Hero

(To the tune of: If You’re Happy and You Know It)

If you want to be a hero fly around… (make flying motions)

If you want to be a hero spin your cape… (spin in a circle)

If you want to be a hero jump up high… (jump)

 

For our final book, we read Mighty Max!.  Before we opened the cover, I had the kids vote on whether they thought, based on the cover, that Max’s powers were real or imaginary.  This was a split vote, with several kids voting twice. (Max’s powers are imaginary, by the way.)

I then invited kids to come up and get a coloring sheet, and explained the craft, then let people go to it.  We made superhero puppets.  Kids chose a mask and an emblem, and got to decorate their paper bag any way they chose.  There were some very inventive, colorful superheroes!  This is my boring one:

Superhero Puppets4

But, boy, did we have a gang of people!

Superhero Puppets3

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

