Preschool Dance Party 7-18-15

By Awnali Mills

Following in the footsteps of the greats like The Show Me Librarian, Jbrary, and Storytime Katie, I took the plunge and did a Preschool Dance Party.

Dancing

Oh. My. Goodness.

I had no idea this party would be this popular.  It was fairly simple to put together, had a great attendance, and parents immediately requested more.

So, this is how I put it together.  I looked for a greeting song, a warm up song, a fun dance song, a song to use with a prop (scarves this time), another two fun songs, a cool down song, and a goodbye song.  After the prop song I planned a break which allowed me to collect the scarves, let people use the bathroom or grab a drink, and let everyone cool down a bit before dancing again.

Because we had such a large group, I was having a bit of trouble giving directions because of the noise level.  I remembered a trick used with adults in a seminar I attended recently, and used it very effectively.  I said, “If you can hear my voice, say shhh.”  Everyone who hears you begins to shush, and pretty quickly everyone is quiet and you can give directions.  Worked like a charm.  I can make myself heard above a crowd VERY effectively, but it’s my drill sergeant voice, and would probably make little kids cry.  This gets the job done with little effort (and nobody cried).

So anyway, in the break, after I collected the scarves, I had everyone sit down and we read The Man From the Land of Fandango by Margaret Mahy.  This was a nice rhythmic book with dancing in it, so it worked well.  Then, we were up and dancing again!

I had a PowerPoint presentation for the parents with the picture of the album, title of the song, name of the artist, and some very simple directions to let them know what we were doing.

The songs I chose, in order, were:

1. Song: Hello & How Are You?
Album: Wiggleworms Love You
Artist: Old Town School

2. Song: You Make Me Feel Like Dancing
Album: You Make Me Feel Like Dancing
Artist: The Wiggles

3. Song: Dance, Dance, Dance
Album: Disney’s Beach Party
Artist: The Blue Sea Band

4. Song: Dancing Scarf Blues
Album: Dancing Feet
Artist: Carole Peterson

5. Song: The Freeze
Album: Dancing Feet
Artist: Carole Peterson

6. Song: The Chicken Dance
Album: All Time Favorite Dances
Artist: Dennis Buck

7. Song: Turn Around
Album: Getting to Know Myself
Artist: Hap Palmer

8. Song: Shake Hands with Friends
Album: Growing Up with Ella Jenkins
Artist: Mary Crane Center

As people left, I had a list of all the songs, albums and artists that we had listened to, but over half of them were left, so I doubt I’ll do that again.

This entry was posted in Library Program and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Preschool Dance Party 7-18-15

  1. Pingback: Blanket Storytime 7-22-15 | The Librarian Is on The Loose

  2. Pingback: Preschool Dance Party 2-27-16 | The Librarian Is on The Loose

Leave a Reply

