Frog Storytime and Craft 8-5-15

By Awnali Mills

Ribbet, ribbet!

Today was all about the frogs, man.  We had a lot of fun with this one.  The books I chose were Beware of the Frog by William Bee, The Croaky Pokey by Ethan Long, and Jump Frog Jump! by Robert Kalan.

Beware of the FrogCroaky PokeyJump Frog Jump

In my magic bag was an enormous bullfrog puppet.  There were lots of squeals and giggles when he poked his head out of the bag, and we all tried to croak as loudly and deeply as he did.

Our first book was Beware of the Frog.  I love William Bee’s books!  The surprise ending of this one always delights me, and certainly made the kids (and grownups) laugh.

Then I did the flannel Five Green and Speckled Frogs (because, really, how could I not?)

Then I had a minor panic attack because I didn’t see a song planned and one bewildering second of “Oh, my gosh! Why didn’t I plan a song?” Then sanity returned when I looked at the title of the next book.  We all stood up and did the Croaky Pokey as I read the book.  That was a lot of fun, and the kids loved acting like they were trying to eat flies.

I did the short little flannel I Kissed a Frog, where the princess kisses a frog and turns into one.  We all agreed that we shouldn’t go around kissing frogs!

For our last book, I read Jump Frog Jump!  I had a smaller frog puppet with nice long legs that jumped when the kids yelled “Jump, Frog, jump!”

To end storytime, I asked the kids what color frogs are.  Naturally, they all shouted, “Green!”  I said, “Really?”  Then I put up a picture of a brilliant blue and black frog.  We had a lot of discussion about the different colors of frogs as I put up picture after picture (even a pink one).

What Color is a Frog

I told them that frogs actually come in lots of different colors, and said that I had brought some bright colored frogs for them.  I pulled out some plastic jumping frogs that we had unearthed in the workroom and handed them out.

Jumping Frog

Then, I segued into our craft by telling them that because frogs come in all different colors, when they made their paper bag frog they didn’t have to limit themselves to green.  They could use any colors they liked!  They certainly took me up on it.  There were frogs of every color in the crayon box—even spotted ones!

Frog Puppet

This entry was posted in Craft, Story Time and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

