Family Storytime – 11-7-15

By Awnali Mills

So, I’ve had a wild couple of weeks.  We closed one library’s doors forever, transitioned to a brand new building, I presented on STEAM in children’s programming at the Virginia Library Association’s state convention, and opened the new library, all while helping to orient and train five new children’s staff members.

I was busy.

But, I’m almost back into the swing of things.  I say almost because next week I’m flying to Arizona to pull off my parents’ 50th wedding anniversary party.  THEN, I’ll come back and finally get back into a routine.  Until, you know, Thanksgiving and Christmas.

At any rate, I did a preschool storytime and craft this week, so I thought I’d give you the rundown on it.

The books I chose are Gaston by Kelly DiPucchio, Noisy Nora by Rosemary Wells, and The Family Book by Todd Parr.

GastonNoisy NoraThe Family Book

We started off with a picture of my family in my magic bag.  That led us to talk about families and the theme of storytime.  Then I had everyone stand and we did a fun stretch.

Our first book was Gaston, a book that uses a poodle family and a French bulldog family whose puppies have gotten switched to talk about how families don’t all have to look alike to be okay.  It’s kind of a longer book, which is why I did it first.  But after that, we needed to MOVE!  So, we all stood up and did a version of Where is Thumpkin, using Daddy, Mommy, Brother, Sister, and Baby.

Our next book was Noisy  Nora.  I kinda wondered how this book would go over with parents, since Nora’s sister repeatedly calls her dumb.  So, each time I read the line, I gasped and frowned and said how unkind Nora’s sister was.  The parents gasped along with me and murmured to their children.  Nobody complained though, so I think the book worked pretty well.

Next, I did the flannel Whose Baby Are You?, handing out the adult animals, and putting the baby animals on the board along with the word that described them, and let the child who had the matching adult bring it up.  That went really well.

Next, we did the activity Mommy, Mommy.

Mommy, mommy, let’s sweep the floor.
(Pretend to sweep the floor)
Mommy, mommy, let’s go to the store.
(Pretend to drive a car)
Mommy, mommy, let’s bake a cake.
(Pretend to mix ingredients)
Mommy, mommy, let’s take a break.
(Wipe brow and whisper “whew”)
Mommy, mommy, loves me so.
(Point to self)
Mommy, mommy, watch me grow.
(Stretch arms up high)
Mommy, mommy, turn out the light.
(Make a click sound and turn pretend light off)
Mommy, mommy, say good-night
(Put hands together beside cheek and tilt head)

Our final book was The Family Book.  Todd Parr’s books are always so lovely and colorful.  This book was a huge hit, with several parents asking to check it out afterwards.

After storytime, we had our monthly craft.  Following the theme of families, we made picture frames.  My sample frame had a picture of my family at my son’s graduation.  I used the cardboard from cereal boxes spray painted black for the frame and backing, glued together on three sides with hot glue.  Then I cut 1” squares of colored newspaper comic strips as our mosaic tiles.  We just used glue sticks to attach the squares to the frames.

Mosaic FrameThis is an image I used as a springboard for my own project.  I got it from http://www.theartofupcycling.com/2013_09_01_archive.html

This entry was posted in Craft, Story Time and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

