Our Bodies Story Time 12-2-15

By Awnali Mills

Today’s storytime was done in conjunction with our monthly craft program.  Since our craft was a reindeer made out of hand and footprints, our book theme was Our Bodies.  The books I chose were: There’s a Story in My Head: Sign Language for Body Parts by Dawn Prochovnic, I Love You, Nose, I Love You, Toes by Linda Davick, and Nose to Toes, You are Yummy by Tim Harrington.

There's a Story In My HeadI Love You, Nose, I Love You ToesNose to Toes, You are Yummy

After our opening song, rules, and weather report, I did my magic bag.  Today, I had a bunch of ping pong balls in the bag.  I rattled them around and asked them to guess what was in the bag.  Then, I had a volunteer stick one hand in and see if he could figure out what was in the bag.  He correctly guessed ping pong balls.  Then I asked the kids what we had used to figure out what was in the bag.  We had used our ears (hearing) and hands (touch).  Our ears and hands are part of (you guessed it!) our bodies!

Then I asked the kids to stand up and we did a stretch to get our bodies all warmed up for storytime.

First you stretch high
Then you stretch low
Next you stretch wide (arms wide)
then you stretch narrow. (arms in)
Stretch to the left
then stretch to the right
Stretch really fast with all your might! (fast arm circles)
then stretch really slow (slow arm circles)
Everybody wave hello (hello!)
Show me a smile
and now we’re ready to go!
Credit: Jbrary

Then we did our first book, There’s a Story in My Head: Sign Language for Body Parts.  I liked this book because each page talked about a different body part and then gave a really simply pictograph for how to make the sign for that body part.  In a strange twist, my crowd today was very much on the younger side—most should have been in the Toddler storytime, so this book seemed a little long (although it really isn’t a long book).  I went ahead and skipped some pages just to bring it to a close.  All of the appropriately aged children were doing the signs right along with me.

This book naturally segued into my early literacy tip: “Since this book is all about another language, I wanted to encourage you to talk and read to your children in whatever language is most comfortable for you.  Kids this age learn languages very easily, and once they’ve learned one language, they can very easily learn another.  This will be really helpful when they go to school.”

Next, we stood up and sang “My Thumbs are Starting to Wiggle.” (Tune: The Bear Went Over the Mountain)

My thumbs are starting to wiggle,
My thumbs are starting to wiggle,
My thumbs are starting to wiggle,
And now so are my hands/arms/feet…
Body is starting to wiggle: around and around and around!
(Sing about other body parts as wiggles spread!)
(adapted from Preschool Express)

Then we did our next book, I Love You, Nose, I Love You, Toes.  This book went pretty well.  It’s lyrical with a little humor thrown in.  After the book, I had the kids do a fingerplay, Dance Your Fingers Up

Dance your fingers up, dance your fingers down
Dance your fingers to the side, dance them all around
Dance them on your shoulders, dance them on your head
Dance them on your tummy, and put them all to bed
Credit: Best Kids Book Site

Then I did a flannel that I pulled out of the cupboard called Feet, Feet, Feet.  Here’s the rhyme, and it is accompanied by matching pictures:
(First, we talked about how many feet WE had)
Feet of snails are only one
Birds grow two to hop and run
Dogs and cats and cows have four
Ants and beetles add two more
Spiders run around on eight
Which may seem like a lot, but wait!
Centipedes have more than THIRTY
Feet to wash when they get dirty!
(I have no idea how to credit this—it is an old flannel)

Next, we did a little chant.  I had the kids practice saying “all by myself” a few times, then I read the following lines and they joined me on the end.

There are many things that I can do (All by myself!)
I can comb my hair and lace my shoe (All by myself!)
I can wash my hands and wash my face (All by myself!)
I can put my toys and blocks in place (All by myself!)
Credit: Songs and Rhymes (LAMP CHC)

To finish, I had all the kids stand up with me and do the actions for Nose to Toes, You are Yummy.  This book comes with a song you can listen to online.  I didn’t really sing the song, just kind of chanted the book, and had the kids do the motions.

After storytime finished, we did the craft.

ReindeerCraft and picture from here.

I had the caregivers trace children’s hands and one foot onto brown paper, cut it out, and glue it to a large white sheet of paper.  Then they glued on some wiggle eyes and a red pompom, and drew on a mouth.  Easy-peasey.

 

 

This entry was posted in Craft, Story Time and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

