Silly Story Time 12-9-15

By Awnali Mills

Today was a silly storytime.  The books I chose were If You Happen to Have a Dinosaur by Linda Bailey, Big Bad Baby by Bruce Hale, and What Will Fat Cat Sit On by Jan Thomas.

If You Happen to Have a DinosaurBig Bad BabyWhat Will Fat Cat Sit On

After our opening song and our weather report, I opened my magic bag and pulled out this:

IMG_20151209_110258

Yes, thank you, it does suit me, doesn’t it?  There’s nothing like a turkey on your head to get kids to giggling—at least among the 3-5 year old crowd.  We agreed that it was pretty silly.

 

 

 

 

 

Then, we sang The Backward Man to the tune of The Muffin Man.

Oh, do you know the backward man,
The backward man, the backward man?
Oh, do you know the backward man?
He’s a very, very, very strange man.

He wears his shoes up on his head,
Up on his head, up on his head.
He wears his shoes up on his head.
He’s a very, very, very strange man.

He wears his hat down on his foot,
Down on his foot, down on his foot.
He wears his hat down on his foot.
He’s a very, very, very strange man.

His dog says meow and his cat says woof,
His cat says woof, his cat says woof.
His dog says meow and his cat says woof
He’s a very, very, very strange man.
by Carla Skjong

On the second verse, I put two of my shoes on my head that I had attached together in a rush this morning by stapling fabric through the heel straps.  I left it on through the song.

IMG_20151209_110318

For the third verse, I put my husband’s mowing cap on my foot (because it’s nasty anyway, so what would a shoe hurt?), and for the final verse, I pulled out dog and cat stuffed animals.  This went well, and the kids thought I was pretty funny.

Our first book was If You Happen to Have a Dinosaur, but it didn’t go over as well as I had hoped.  The kids didn’t seem to get it.  I guess I’ll have to move that one out of the rotation.  At any rate, I started by opening the book upside down and waited for the kids to tell me that it WAS upside down.  That led me to my early literacy tip, which was: If you want to get tricky with your kids, every once in a while hold a book upside down or backwards and see if they notice.  It’s a fun way to see if they know the right way to hold a book.

Then, we got up and sang Raffi’s Shake Your Sillies Out.

Then we read Big Bad Baby, and the kids really liked it.  Next I introduced them to Jbrary’s Mmm Ahh Went the Little Green Frog.  They seemed to do okay with it, but one of the moms said afterward that it was a hard song.  This song gets rave reviews all over the internet, so maybe it’s my singing that’s the problem?

At any rate, we finished up with What Will Fat Cat Sit On?  This book also got lots of laughs, but it’s a fun one to do, too.

This was our last storytime of the session, so it’ll be a few weeks before I post another storytime.

 

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

