Book Review – Evermore Dragon by Barbara Joosse

Evermore DragonBy Awnali Mills

I have to admit that I’m a sucker for a girl and a dragon story.  But I rarely find one in picture book format that I really enjoy.  Yesterday, I was looking through our new picture books and making note of the ones that would be good for storytime, when I ran across Evermore Dragon.

For me, the story starts off kind of ho-hum, with some playfulness with words, and rhythmic lines.  Okay.  Then, the girl and dragon play hide and seek, and the girl pretends that she cannot find the huge dragon hiding behind a little rock.  Shrug.  Nice enough, but nothing special.  Then it’s the girl’s turn to hide, and she gets herself lost.  The dragon comes to find her…and…well, the book just got magical for me.  His devotion and fierce protectiveness of the girl touched something inside me.  I just wanted to hunt little kids down and demand that they snuggle up with me while I read the book to them (I didn’t do this, mind you, I just felt like it.)

I did give this book to a co-worker.  She read it and said, “There should be a genre designation for books that make you want to hug someone at the end.”  So, yeah, maybe it’s not just me.  Anyway, hunt down this book and read it for me, will you?  Then tell me if you loved it as much as I did, or whether I was having a weird hormonal day.

Thanks.  I’ll wait right here.

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review – Evermore Dragon by Barbara Joosse

  1. Kristin says:

    Hi! Thanks for your review of this book! I’m going to try to remember to find it at the library for my kids. I’m always on the lookout for new picture books for the kids – right now we just go to the library and randomly choose a bunch off the shelves.

    • awnali says:

      Oooh! You totally need to ask your children’s librarians what their favorite picture books are, or if they’ve read any good ones lately. You’ll get an avalanche of great books! I even keep a list of longer picture books for a couple of patrons so that I’ll have good ones to recommend when they come in. If you let your librarians know you’re interested, they might enjoy doing the same thing for you.
      Also check out “I Ain’t Gonna Paint No More” by Karen Beaumont, “Goldilocks and the Three Dinosaurs” by Mo Willems, and anything by Jan Thomas (some of my favorite authors.) Okay, I have to stop myself now because I keep thinking, “Oh, yeah, and THAT one!”

Leave a Reply

