Feelings Story Time 1-6-16

By Awnali Mills

This was my first storytime of the new year, and the first of our new session.  Because our craft was Funny Faces, I did the theme “Feelings.”  The books I chose were Grumpy Bird by Jeremy Tankard, Hooray for Hat by Brian Won, and I’m Not Scared by Jonathan Allen.

Grumpy BirdHooray for HatI'm Not Scared

After our opening song and our weather report, I opened my magic bag.  Inside I had 5 different blank flannel faces that I created based on the model at Spectacular Storytimes.  I put the faces up on the board and began talking about different emotions and what we looked like when we felt that way.  I had the kids make the faces at me as I made them, too.  Then I would put the corresponding features on the faces.  I’ll post about this flannel tomorrow.

Then we sang The More We Get Together, with an additional verse from Jbrary:

The more we get together, together, together
The more we get together, the happier we’ll be
For your friends are my friends
And my friends are your friends
Oh, the more we get together, the happier we’ll be!

The more we read together, together, together
The more we read together, the happier we’ll be
Read big books and small books
Read short books and tall books
Oh, the more we read together, the happier we’ll be!

I had all the kids standing for the song, and I kept them standing for the first book, Grumpy Bird.  As Bird walks along with the animals following him, we all walked in place.  When Bird and the animals stand on one leg, we did, too.  When he jumped, we jumped.  And, at the end of the book when they all fly back to Bird’s nest, we all flew around the room and back to our “nests”.  That led me to my Early Literacy tip: It’s fun to act out stories, and helps children really understand the story.  Later on, this will help with reading comprehension.

Then we did the flannel Poor Little Baby that I got from Lisa’s Libraryland.  I had all the children chant “Poor little baby, are you still sad?” with me.  Then, we sang:

If you’re happy and you know it clap your hands,
if you’re happy and  you know it, clap your hands.
If you’re happy and you know it, then your face will surely show it,
if you’re happy and you know it, clap your hands.
Sad…say Boo Hoo
Mad…stomp your feet
Scared…say Oh Me!
Surprised…say Oh My!
Sleepy…take a nap

It surprised me just how much the children enjoyed doing this song.  I think they loved getting to do the different expressions, and I had to work at not laughing at some of the expressions I was seeing because they were JUST ADORABLE.

Next we read Hooray for Hat.  The kids chanted the “Hooray for Hat!” with me, and enjoyed the grumpiness, and a few kids even echoed me when I stomped and said, “I’m grumpy!”

Our last song was Skinnamarink:

Skinnamarink e-dink, e-dink,
Skinnamarink e-doo,
I love you.
(repeat)
I love you in the morning,
And in the afternoon;
I love you in the evening,
And underneath the moon.
Skinnamarink e-dink, e-dink,
Skinnamarink e-doo,
I love you.

I was running short of time, so I didn’t get to read I’m Not Scared.  Instead, we headed right into our Busy Hands craft:

Funny Faces Craft

Basically, I handed out little squares of posterboard and let kids create whatever faces they wanted with markers, wiggle eyes, foamies, feathers, pompoms, and yarn.

 

This entry was posted in Craft, Flannel, Story Time and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

