Snow Story Time – 1/13/16

By Awnali Mills

Today’s storytime was lots of fun.  The books I chose were Froggy Gets Dressed by Jonathan London, If It’s Snowy and You Know It, Clap Your Paws by Kim Norman, and Snow Happy by Patricia Hubbell.

Froggy Gets DressedIf It's Snowy and You Know It, Clap Your PawsSnow Happy

After our opening song and weather check, we opened our magic bag to find three “snowballs” (Styrofoam balls in 3 sizes).  We talked about them being small, medium, and large, then I would hold one up and they would shout which size it was.

So fun.

Then we did a Snowflake Dance:

 (Sung To: Frere Jacques)
Dance like snowflakes, Dance like snowflakes
In the air, In the air
Whirling, Twirling snowflakes, Whirling, Twirling snowflakes
Here and there, Here and there
http://www.everythingpreschool.com/themes/snow/songs.htm

And to really set the mood, we made our own snow storm:

Snow is Falling
Snow is falling, falling down;
Snow is falling hit the ground. (Wiggle fingers like snowflakes)
Flurries, flurries (sing slowly)
Snowing, snowing (sing faster)
Blizzard (Sing Loud and very fast)
http://www.everythingpreschool.com/themes/snow/songs.htm

Our first book was Froggy Gets Dressed.  This is a perennial favorite, and so good for so many different themes: frogs, clothing, underwear, snow, etc.  I always have the kids do Froggy’s mother with me, yelling “Froooogggggyyyyy!” and me saying “Whaaat?” in the most annoyed tone I have.  It’s a hoot.
After the book, we stood and did The Snowman Song:

 (Sung to: “Frere Jacques”)
Great big ball, great big ball, made of snow, made of snow.
Rolling down the street, landing at my feet, great big ball, great big ball.
Medium-size ball, medium-size ball, made of snow, made of snow.
Rolling down the street, landing at my feet,
Medium-size ball, medium-size ball.
Teeny tiny ball, teeny tiny ball, made of snow, made of snow.
Rolling down the street, landing at my feet,
Teeny tiny ball, teeny tiny ball.
See my snowman, see my snowman, big, medium, small, big, medium, small
Watch my snowman grow as up the Balls they go… 1 2 3, 1 2 3!
Adapted from http://www.everythingpreschool.com/themes/snow/songs.htm

In our new story time room, we have cool new electronics, including Apple TV.  So now (drum roll, please) I am able to use PowerPoints with my storytime.  Each verse of this had its own screen, with a different size ball on it.  At the end, I had the balls stacked, one on top of another, with numbers in them.  This was just another sneaky way of reinforcing the concepts of big, medium, and small as well as counting.

Then, I sang If It’s Snowy and You Know It, Clap Your Paws to the kids, talking about the pictures as I did so.  This was all supposed to lead up to my Early Literacy tip, which was “It’s so great when you talk to your kids about the things they see in books!  It’s one of the best ways to develop your children’s vocabulary.”  Except that although I did the lead up, I completely forgot to say the tip.  Oh, well.  There’s always next week.

Next we sang I’m a Little Snowman:

I’m a little snowman short and fat.
Here is my scarf and here is my hat.
When the snow is falling come and play.
Build a snowman every day.
http://www.everythingpreschool.com/themes/snow/songs.htm

I finished up with Snow Happy and skipped a couple of pages at the end because I was starting to lose some of the younger crowd.  To end, we played the song The Freeze: Let It Snow by Carole Peterson.  It took me FOREVER to figure out how to get this to play from a PowerPoint in the iPad to the room’s sound system, but it worked, and I am very pleased with myself. The kids absolutely LOVED getting to dance and freeze when the music stopped.

 

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

