Button Story Time 1-27-16

By Awnali Mills

Today’s storytime was about the strange and wonderful theme of buttons.  Because sometimes a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do, and this girl needed to do a button storytime.  I’m not really sure why.

Don’t judge me.

Push ButtonJoseph Had a Little Overcoat

So anyway, the books I chose for today were Push Button by Aliki, and Joseph Had a Little Overcoat by Simms Taback.  I seriously considered Press Here by Herve Tullet, but it was just too long with the other ones I had, and not to worry, Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons got some love, but I told the story with a puppet instead of the book.

And this is how it went!  I started off with buttons in my magic bag, and because buttons were on the overhead screen behind me (I mirror my iPad onto the screen using AppleTV and do a PowerPoint with words for the parents), one of the smart cookies on the floor guessed that buttons were in my bag.  We counted the buttons on my shirt, and counted the buttons on the shirt of a little volunteer.

To get us ready for storytime, we did a stretching rhyme and then dove into Push Button.  The kids really seemed to like this one, where a boy is pushing all the buttons around the house until he hurts his finger and learns that there are other things he can do besides push buttons.  My Early Literacy Tip: It’s great when you talk about how something in a book is like something in your child’s life.  By asking your child to make those connections, you help their reading comprehension!

Then, we stood and sang The Button Song (tune: Did You Ever See a Lassie?)

Let’s sing a song of buttons, Of buttons, of buttons,
Let’s sing a song of buttons That fasten our clothes.
There are big ones and small ones,
With two holes and four holes.
Let’s sing a song of buttons
That fasten our clothes.
Credit: Perpetual Preschool

Five Little Buttons

Then, I did the flannel Five Little Buttons:

5 little buttons on the coat that I wore
Dad buttoned the red one, then there were four
4 little buttons, up and down you see
Mom buttoned the orange one, then there were three
3 little buttons and before I knew
My brother buttoned the yellow one, then there were two
2 little buttons, oh what fun
My sister buttoned the green one, then there was one
1 little button, blue and undone
I buttoned it myself and then there were none
Credit: Anne’s Library Life

 

Then, I pulled out my Pete the Cat puppet and did His Four Groovy Buttons.  I got the kids to sing his song along with me, and they really seemed to enjoy that.

Next, I put a picture of a person honking their car horn on the screen, and we talked about the great big button in our car and why we push it.  Then we stood and beeped our horns along with Eric LItwin and Michael Levine’s Beep Beep (Blue Danube Waltz) from the album Bouncy Blue.

Then, we sat and read Joseph Had a Little Overcoat.  The kids were just sure he couldn’t make anything smaller, and then he’d go and do it!

Lastly, we played Who’s Got the Button by hiding a white flannel button behind different animal faces and chanting “Dog, Dog, (or Sheep, or whatever) have YOU got the button?”  We played several rounds of that, and then finished with our ending song.

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

