Valentine’s Day Story Time 2-10-16

By Awnali Mills

I’m sure it’s hardly surprising that storytime this morning was about Valentine’s Day.  Sappy, I know, but we all enjoyed it.  The books I chose were Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney, and Time for a Hug by Phillis Gershator and Mim Green.

Guess How Much I Love YouTime for a Hug

We started with our regular weather observations, then my magic bag.  Inside my bag was a paper valentine that I had made out of *gasp* construction paper.  I had glued a picture of the “I love you” sign onto it, so we practiced making the sign and talking about how it combines the letters I, L, and Y to symbolize “I love you.”

Then, we did the little fingerplay Make a Heart

I put my hands together, this is how I start;
I curve my fingers right around and I can make a Heart!
Credit: http://www.everythingpreschool.com/themes/valentines/songs.htm

Then, we used that heart sign in our first song:

Love, Love, Love (Sung to: Three Blind Mice)
Love, love, love, love, love, love (form heart with hands)
See how it grows, See how it grows. (point to eyes)
I love my friends and they love me. (cross arms over chest)
We love each other that’s plain to see. (point to eyes)
There’s plenty of love for my family. (cross arms over chest)
Love, love, love. (form heart with hands)
Adapted from: http://www.everythingpreschool.com/themes/valentines/songs.htm

My Early Literacy tip was : Isn’t it interesting that singing slows down language and we can hear the different syllables in the words?  This helps kids hear those sounds which makes it easier for them to sound out words when they start to read!

We read Guess How Much I Love You, and did as many of the motions as we could, stretching our arms out, reaching up high, etc.  I did draw the line at flipping over on my head and sticking my toes up high, however.

I’m such a spoilsport, I know.

For our first flannel, I handed out a whole bunch of different colored flannel hearts and then chanted:

“If you have a (red) heart, (red) heart, (red) heart, if you have a (red) heart, please bring it up to me!”
Credit: Carolyn Heath

Once all the hearts were up on the board, we counted all of them as I took them off the board.  I set aside the first ten I pulled off, then put those ten back on the board in a row.  Then we sang together:

Ten Little Valentines
(Sung To: Ten Little Indians)
One little, two little, three little valentines.
Four little, five little, six little valentines.
Seven little, eight little, nine little valentines.
Ten Valentines in a row!
Credit: http://www.everythingpreschool.com/themes/valentines/songs.htm

For our second story, Time for a Hug, I had printed and laminated the numbers 1-12, and put magnets on the back of each number.  Before class, I drew a clock face on my magnetic white board, complete with the numbers.  (Let me back up.  I put all the magnetic numbers on the board in a circle and drew the clock face around them, then replaced each magnetic number with a written number.)  Then, when it was time to read the book, I handed out the numbers.  As I read, when I called out the time, the child who had that number brought it up to the board and matched it to the number written there.  While I was reading, moms were giving lots of hugs to little ones, who giggled like mad!  Then, they would run up and put the number on the board, then run back and fling themselves onto mom’s lap.  They had the best time with this!  At the end, we counted all the numbers again, while I pointed to them.  For our last song, we sang:

I’m a Little Valentine 
(Sung to: “I’m a little teapot”)
I’m a little Valentine, (make arms into a heart shape)
Red and white.
With ribbons and lace,
I’m a beautiful sight. (spread fingers on either side of face)
I can say I love you (cross hands over chest)
On Valentine’s Day
Just put me in an envelope, (put one hand inside the other)
and give me away. (hold hand out to give away)
Credit: http://www.preschooleducation.com/svalentine.shtml 

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!

This entry was posted in Story Time. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

