Buggy Story Time 4-6-16

By Awnali Mills

And it’s time for the annual Bug Storytime!  This year I used the books The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle (pop-up version), The Mixed Up Caterpillar by Annie Kublar and Can You Make a Scary Face? by Jan Thomas.

Very Hungry Caterpillarmixed up caterpillercan you make a scary face

I started out with a ladybug finger puppet in my magic bag.  Then we all sang There’s a Ladybug on Me:

(to the tune of My Darling Clementine)
There’s a ladybug, there’s a ladybug, there’s a ladybug on me
On my finger, on my shoulder, now she’s crawling on my knee.
She is tickling, she is tickling, she is tickling me
On my finger, on my shoulder, but especially on my knee.

Once we’d gone through the ladybug verse, I pulled out a bumblebee and repeated it, then a spider, and lastly a butterfly.  Then we talked about where butterflies come from, and I talked about the caterpillars happily munching away at the reference desk that would turn into butterflies, and gave a plug for the butterfly release party that would be coming up when they turned into their butterfly selves.

This was the perfect lead in to our first book, The Very Hungry Caterpillar.  Today this was the hands down favorite.  A good pop-up book is always a winner!  Then, we all stood up and sang The Itsy Bitsy Spider.

Once we were seated, the kids helped me go on a bug hunt.  This is a flannel in the tradition of Going on a Bear Hunt that we have with different bugs, and we do the different motions for it while slapping our hands on our knees.

Next up was The Mixed Up Caterpillar followed by the flannel Little Ladybug in which we adorn a ladybug with her spots.

Our last book was Can You Make a Scary Face?  This is always a lot of fun for me.  Since we were already standing, we finished up The Buggy Pokey.  We put our front legs in, our back legs in, our antennae in, and our stingers in—because that’s what it’s all about!  And, don’t forget to flap your wings when you turn yourself around!

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

