Toddlers in the Jungle – Story Time 4-7-16

It's a TigerBy Awnali Mills

My boss is the rock star of story time.  He has a cult following and everything!  Once you’ve been to a Mr. Chris storytime, all others must pale in comparison, as his through-the-roof numbers testify.  But, Mr. Chris can’t always be here.  And do you know what happens when Mr. Chris can’t be here?  That’s right.

I get to do his storytime.

This literally makes me lose sleep.  The first time I substituted for him, people said unkind things (before storytime, not after.)  It’s made me nervous and self-conscious.  Chris has every confidence in me, and people have always been kind and complimentary since that first time, but there’s still the evil specter in the back of my mind whispering that they’re going to eat me alive.

Nobody else goes through this, right?  It’s just me?

So I really put a lot of thought and care into designing Toddler storytime when I need to substitute, and Chris lets everyone know that he won’t be there.  That way, if people show up, they know who they’re getting, and the meanies will have no reason to…well…you know.

This week, I started off with If You’re Happy and You Know It, then introduced myself.  Then, I introduced my friend, Mr. Tiger.  He was asleep in his box, and we had to knock and yell loudly for him to wake up.  Once he was awake, he shared our letter of the day with us (J) and our number (8).  Then, I promptly forgot to do all of the “J” pictures I brought with me, and went right into singing Do You Know the Jungle Animals.  This is sung to the tune of Do You Know the Muffin Man:

Do you know the chimpanzee, the chimpanzee, the chimpanzee
Oh do you know the chimpanzee that lives deep in the jungle?

Do you know the scaly snake, the scaly snake, the scaly snake
Oh do you know the scaly snake that lives deep in the jungle?

Do you know the rhinoceros, the rhinoceros, the rhinoceros
Oh do you know the rhinoceros that lives deep in the jungle?

Do you know the chameleon, the chameleon, the chameleon
Oh do you know the chameleon that lives deep in the jungle?

Do you know the fierce tiger, the fierce tiger, the fierce tiger
Oh do you know the fierce tiger that lives deep in the jungle?

Adapted from http://www.everythingpreschool.com/themes/jungle/songs.htm

Then we shook our sillies out with Raffi, and started our first book, It’s a Tiger by David LaRochelle.  I stood up and acted out everything that we did, and encouraged the kids to do so as well.  I also had them yell, “It’s a tiger!” every time it’s said in the book.

Five little monkeys (2)Since the book ends with a crocodile, that segued nicely into the next activity, which is a puppet set of palm tree, monkeys that cling to it with Velcro, and a crocodile puppet.  We did the Five Little Monkeys with it:

Five little monkeys sittin’ in a tree
Teasing Mr. Crocodile, “Can’t catch me!”
Along comes Mr. Crocodile, quiet as can be and….
SNAP!
Four little monkeys…
And that is why we don’t tease Mr. Crocodile!

That led nicely into doing Monkey See, Monkey Do:

Monkey see, monkey do
The monkey does the same as you!
The monkey stomp, stomps, stomps his feet
The monkey stomp, stomps, stomps his feet
Monkey see, monkey do
The monkey does the same as you!
The monkey claps, claps, claps his hands
The monkey claps, claps, claps his hands
Monkey see, monkey do
The monkey does the same as you!
The monkey turns, turns, turns around
The monkey turns, turns, turns around
Monkey see, monkey do
The monkey does the same as you!
The monkey jumps, jumps, jumps around
The monkey jumps, jumps, jumps around
Monkey see, monkey do
The monkey does the same as you!
Note: Add additional verses (sits down, stands up, covers his eyes, etc)

Adapted from http://www.everythingpreschool.com/themes/jungle/songs.htm

Next up was Five Elephants in the Bathtub.  There was a surge of little hands wanting to put these flannel pieces on the board—so many that I was worried that someone was going to get hurt.  So, I stuck with putting them all up by myself.  Then I finished up by bringing out the bubbles.  Once the bubble song was done, I brought out the toys, and everyone rejoiced.

Since we had super high attendance, and lots of compliments (and even a complaint about how many people there were), I think I did okay.

 

 

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Toddlers in the Jungle – Story Time 4-7-16

  1. Morrisa says:

    Well, it just downright hurts my heart that people said unkind things when you were just trying to provide something good for their children. If they were of any quality, they would apologize. I know you pour your heart into your work and always do a fantastic job. Yea for Mrs. Mills!!!!

Leave a Reply

