Don’t Be Grumpy, Read Books! A Grumpy Storytime

By Awnali Mills

It will come as a shock to you, I know, but kids have bad days, too.  And when they have bad days, they get grumpy.

Really grumpy.

The cure for that?  A funny grumpy storytime!  The books I chose were Crankenstein by Samantha Berger, Hooray for Hat by Brian Won, and Grumpy Pants by Claire Messer.

CrankensteinHooray for HatGrumpy Pants

In my magic bag, I had a simple, double sided sign.  On one side was a happy face, and on the other side was a grumpy face.  I talked about some things that had made me grumpy when I was their age, like my brother peeling all the paper off my crayons, and my mother fixing soup for lunch (I like soup now, but not then!).  I held up the happy side, talked about the things that made me grumpy and flipped it to the grumpy side saying, “How do you think that made me feel?”

20160511_135238_HDR20160511_135227_HDR

Then, I read Crankenstein.  As I read, we talked about the things that were making the little boy cranky.  Next, we sang If You’re Grumpy and You Know It.

If you’re grumpy and you know it, make a frown.
If you’re grumpy and you know it, make a frown.
If you’re grumpy and you know it and you really want to show it, if you’re grumpy and you know it, make a frown.

Continue with:
Fold your arms
Look away
Stomp your feet
Say ‘NO WAY’
Credit: http://libraryvillage.blogspot.com/2014/01/preschool-story-time-grumpy.html

The kids were totally excellent at making all the frowns (some of them were exceptional!), and all of them were good at the rest of the motions.  That made it even funnier to me when I asked if they were ever grumpy and did those things.  They all assured me that they were never grumpy.  The adults got a good laugh out of that!

20160511_135253_HDR20160511_135301_HDR

Then, I totally copied Miss Sue and made a Grumpy Cat flannel.  Everyone loved this, and I used the words that Miss Sue made up to go with the flannel.

The Grumpy Little Cat (tune Farmer in the Dell)
The Grumpy Little Cat
The Grumpy Little Cat
How do you think he got that way?
The Grumpy Little Cat

“NO” says the cat
“NO” says the cat
What do you think that cat will say?
“NO” says the cat

Let’s hug that little cat
Let’s hug that little cat
A hug a day keeps the grumps away
Let’s hug that little cat

(Flip the nose/mouth over for the last verse—it smiles!)

The happy little cat
The happy little cat
Turned that frown upside down
The happy little cat!

Next, we read Hooray for Hat.  I got the kids doing all the refrains with me, so it was nice and interactive.  That’s a great EL tip—engaging kids by letting them say refrains with you helps them to learn to love reading, and if you point to the words while you say it, it helps them associate the sounds with the squiggles!

Then we sang If You’re Ever Feeling Grouchy (tune: Did You Ever See a Lassie)

If you’re ever feeling grouchy, so grouchy, so grouchy,
If you’re ever feeling grouchy,
Just flap both your arms.
Flap this way and that way and this way and that way.
If you’re ever feeling grouchy just flap both your arms.

If you’re ever feeling grouchy, so grouchy, so grouchy,
If you’re ever feeling grouchy,
Just jump up real high.
Jump this way and that way and this way and that way.
If you’re ever feeling grouchy just jump up real high.

If you’re ever feeling grouchy, so grouchy, so grouchy,
If you’re ever feeling grouchy,
Just spin on your toes.
Spin this way and that way and this way and that way.
If you’re ever feeling grouchy just spin on your toes.

If you’re ever feeling grouchy, so grouchy, so grouchy,
If you’re ever feeling grouchy,
Just wear a big smile.
Smile this way and that way and this way and that way.
If you’re ever feeling grouchy just wear a big smile.
Original Words by Joe Stover
Credit: http://bookbesottedlibrarian.blogspot.com/2011/11/grumpy-disagreeable-storytime.html

This added some more nice movement to storytime, but I was quite winded by the time we stopped flapping, jumping, and spinning!

Our last book was Grumpy Pants.  This is a brand new book for us, and I really loved it.  It was perfect for storytime.  The penguin takes off one grumpy clothing item after another, but nothing helps but a bubble bath and hot chocolate.  I got the usual giggle when he takes off his grumpy underwear.

Naturally, you can’t leave storytime grumpy, so we finished with I Have Something in My Pocket:

I have something in my pocket
It belongs across my face
I keep it very close to me
In a most convenient place.
You’ll never, never guess it,
If you guess a long, long while.
So, I’ll take it out and put it on,
It’s a great big happy smile!
Credit: Traditional

Hope you have a most excellent, non-grumpy day!

 

This entry was posted in Flannel, Story Time and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t Be Grumpy, Read Books! A Grumpy Storytime

  1. Kristin says:

    My kids LOVE Crankenstein…they don’t love it so much when I call them “Crankenstein,” though… I’ll have to look up Grumpy Pants – sounds like something they’d like 🙂

Leave a Reply

