Sharks at the Library! Shark Story Time 7-6-16

By Awnali Mills

So, it’s shark month at the library, so I had to do a shark storytime, right?  Right.

The books I chose were Pattern Fish, Three Little Fish and the Big Bad Shark, and Smiley Shark.

Pattern FishThree Little Fish and the Big Bad SharkSmiley Shark

We started off with a discussion of all the sharks all over the library, and when I sang my magic bag song and we were guessing what I might have in my bag, one of my regular little boys who is going to kindergarten in the fall (sniff, sniff) promptly said, “a shark puppet.”

Uh, well, yeah.  That’s what it was.

So, the shark nibbled on several children’s ears, which prompted plenty of giggles.  Then, we all stood up and sang Swimming in the Sea:

There I was just swimming in the sea
singing do wah diddy diddy dum diddy do
All the sudden there’s a shark next to me
singing do wah diddy diddy dum diddy do

I swam fast (make swimming motions)
I swam fast
To the beach (make motion indicating a beach)
To the beach
I swam fast to the beach (do both motions)
It won’t be me the shark will eat! (shake head and finger “no”)
do wah diddy diddy dum diddy do (Stick thumbs in ears and wiggle fingers)

I modified this from Preschool Education because their version was a little tame for me.
Then I read Pattern Fish.  This is a great book for learning prediction and patterns, and the kids did a fantastic job with it.  And, it was just a little perfect, because a little girl said, “But where are the sharks?” Right before I came to the shark part.  HA!  The kids were happily shouting out the pattern completion phrases right on cue. *Happy sigh*

Then, we did the flannel Five Little Fishies that I got from Sunflower Storytime.  I used the shark puppet for snatching the fish off the board, and had the kids clap really loud each time a fish got eaten.

Next I pulled out Three Little Fish and the Big Bad Shark.  The kids were glued to the story, and loved the voices I did.  When the shark munched and crunched, they slapped their knees and pounded their feet.

They were pretty good at it.

Then, we all stood up and did Slippery Fish, courtesy of JbraryFive Sharks in a Bathtub flannel was up next; another one from Sunflower Storytime.  This, of course, is a take on Five Elephants in a Bathtub.  Knocking all the flannel pieces off the board at the end is always a win.

Everyone stood up again, and we did Baby Shark.  I kind of played with it a bit so that it wasn’t too gross for preschool ears.

Baby shark do do, do do do do
Baby shark do do, do do do do
Baby shark do do, do do do do
Baby shark

Repeat with using appropriate actions
Mama Shark
Papa Shark
Surfer Dude
Went for a Swim
Saw a Shark
Lifeguard Came
Saved My Life
That’s the End

Our final fingerplay was Two Little Sharks.  I also got this from Sunflower Storytime.  I had the kids pull out their chomping shark hands, and I slipped on two shark fingerpuppets.

Two little sharks, in the deep blue sea
One named Leonard and one named Lee
Swim away Leonard, swim away Lee
Come back Leonard, come back Lee!

Two hungry sharks swimming on a wave
One named Dorothy, one named Dave
Chomp, chomp, Dorothy.  Chomp, chomp, Dave.
Swim away Dorothy.  Swim away Dave!

At this point, I looked at the clock and we only had a few minutes, so I had us stand up and do the Sharkey Pokey.  You know, where you put your right and left fins in, your tail fin, and your teeth.  We’ll just have to save Smiley Shark for another day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sharks at the Library! Shark Story Time 7-6-16

  1. Morrisa says:

    So much fun!

  2. Pingback: REVIEW: The Three Little Fish and the Big Bad Shark – Maddy's Cozy Corner

Leave a Reply

