Dancing Storytime – 10/5/16

This last storytime of the session was a dance themed one.  It was a lot of fun!  The books I chose were Jazz Baby by Lisa Wheeler and The Nuts: Sing and Dance in Your Polka-Dot Pants by Eric Litwin.

Jazz Babynuts-sing-and-dance-in-your-polka-dot-pants

To start with, I brought out my raccoon puppet, Jazz, who is a real cool cat who loves to dance (and also loves garbage cans.)  He brought us the letter “D” and the song Come Dancing with Me from the album Perfectly Purple by Eric Litwin.  He also gave our EL tip (because Jazz also likes to sing…), “Singing slows down language and helps kids hear the smaller sounds in words.  This helps kids sound out words when they’re starting to read!” We all danced together—even Jazz.  Then, Jazz showed us the book he’d brought—Jazz Baby.

During the book, I had the kids echo whatever the jazz baby said.  By the end of the book I didn’t have to ask them to repeat it, they just did it on their own.  Then, I did a get-to-know-you song, Cool Cat.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ASTlOXQkEHI

I cut it down, just doing the first three lines, leaving out the different directions because of time.  It would work great to do the whole thing if you only had a few kids.

Next, I handed out scarves to everyone and we danced with them to one of my all-time-favorites, Dancing Scarf Blues from Dancing Feet by Carole Peterson.

We sat down and counted the four corners, then made our scarves into hats, then into blankets, then into capes.  Then, as I called a color, if a child had that color they waved their scarf in the air.  Then we sang the song We Wave Our Scarves Together.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HvnQP2z7Z9M

Everyone returned their scarves to me, and we did our next book, The Nuts: Sing and Dance in Your Polka-Dot Pants.  Again, this one has a nice refrain that the kids sang with me.  At the end of the book are the words and motions for the polka-dot-pants song, and we all did that together.

Finally, we danced to Stop and Go by Greg & Steve from the album Shake, Rattle and Rock.

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dancing Storytime – 10/5/16

  1. Steve & Morrisa Heintz says:

    Where’d you get that raccon puppet???!!!

  2. awnali says:

    He’s one that the library owns 🙂

  3. Pretty much all of my story times are dance-themed, whether they’re meant to be or not. I just love singing and dancing so much, and story time lets me get my wiggles out! 😉

Leave a Reply

