Audiobook Review: James and the Giant Peach

james-and-the-giant-peachOkay, confession time.  I’ve never read James and the Giant Peach.

I know.  I’m sorry.  But please, don’t make me turn in my librarian credentials just yet.  I DO think that it was read to me in class when I was quite young, because it always seemed familiar, but I just couldn’t remember any of the details.  Or, well, any of the story for that matter.  But we recently celebrated Roald Dahl’s birthday in the library, and it seemed to me that it was time to change that oversight.

At any rate, it seemed time since I finished listening to the entire Harry Potter series, and also listened to Until You Reach Me.  And, I was searching our audiobook shelf for something else to read, when James came into my hand and I thought, “Why not?”

I have to tell you that Jeremy Irons, who reads the book is absolutely delightful.  His resonate British voice seems perfectly suited to telling the tale of James Henry Trotter and all the bugs who take a magical peach for a ride.  I would start smiling as soon as I turned on the CD player (which, I assure you, is not a common facial expression for me when heading into rush hour traffic), and I would smile all the way home (or to work.)

I’m very glad that I didn’t just pick up the book and read it, because I imagine that I would have blown through the book very quickly, and not really taken the time to savor the wonderful characters.  Irons did distinct voices for each of them and brought them to life for me.  I think this would be an excellent book for the whole family to enjoy on a car trip.  Just remember the wicked aunts and their shocking meanness if you’re going to have very little ones listening.

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

