Book Review – Rabbit and the Not-So-Big-Bad Wolf

rabbit-and-the-not-so-big-bad-wolfMichael Escoffier hits a home run with his 2012 book Rabbit and the Not-So-Big-Bad Wolf, illustrated by Kris Di Giacomo, (I totally thought this was a new book because I hadn’t seen it before and we just got a reprint.)

This book reminds me of two things that I love: The Little Mouse, the Big Hungry Bear, and the Red Ripe Strawberry and the Looney Tunes cartoon with Daffy, Bugs, and the yeti (my husband occasionally hugs me hard, pats me on the head, and calls me George.  He’s weird like that.)

The narrator of the book tries to get the rabbit to draw an accurate picture of the Not-So-Big-Bad Wolf, but the rabbit has to keep redrawing the picture.  Once the rabbit gets it right, the Not-So-Big-Bad Wolf comes after the rabbit!

The book is short, very cute, and I think it will be a hit in storytime.  And, it has small piles of bunny poop on the pages.  I find that hilarious.  Maybe I’ve been in children’s services too long?

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

