Bird Storytime 11/2/16

By Awnali Mills

Today was a bird storytime.  There are SO MANY good things to do for a bird storytime that it’s hard to choose.  I thought I’d actually crammed a little too much in, but it turned out to be just right for my 30 minute storytime.  The books I chose were Have You Heard the Nesting Bird by Rita Gray and Flight School by Lita Judge.

Have You Heard the Nesting Birdflight-school

Biscuit and I greeted everyone at the door, and he gave puppy kisses to anyone who wanted one.  Then, he brought us the letter B and we talked about all the things that start with the letter B.  One kid promptly said, “Book!”  I’m so proud.  Then, Biscuit told us that he’d found something else that started with the letter B.  It was baby birds!

baby-bird-nest

The little birds wriggled and cheeped while we talked about what to do if you find a real bird’s nest or baby birds that have blown out of the tree.  That segued into our first book, Have You Heard the Nesting Bird.  As I read, I used the iPad to play the actual birdsongs (you can read about the process of creating the recordings here.)

Then, we needed a get-up-and-move activity, and I made this up at the last minute and stuck it in.  This turned out to be hilarious because the kids were imitating everything I did instead of listening to what I was saying.  I tried to get them to spread out so that no one would get their faces smacked when we started flapping, but they just imitated my gestures instead of moving apart, which totally cracked up both me and the parents.  When I laughed, the kids laughed, too, but never would move away from each other!

Flap Your Wings (Awnali Mills)

Flap your wings, one, two, three!
Flap your wings along with me!

Peck at worms, one, two, three!
Peck at worms along with me!

Feed your babies, one, two, three!
Feed your babies along with me!

Settle in your nest, one, two, three
Settle in your nest and go to sleep.

Then we did the flannel Ten Little Parrots.  This is an old one with no attribution.  The kids got really carried away with counting the parrots, and kept counting even when I paused to unstick two of the parrots.  I think they ended up counting 12 or 13 parrots.

facepalm-gif

Next, I pulled out my owl puppet.  My co-worker Shelby gave me a rhyme that I did with the owl.

The Wise Old Owl

The wise old owl
Sat in the tree
He winked and blinked and said to me
Whoooooo?

We did this one a few times so that the kids could hoot back to the owl.  Then, we did the fingerplay Five Eggs:

Five eggs and five eggs
That makes ten.
Sitting on top
Is Mother Hen.
(Cover one fist with the other hand)

Crackle! Crackle! Crackle!
(Clap hands three times)
What do I see?
Ten little chickies
As fluffy as can be!
(Wiggle fingers)

Sorry, I don’t know where this rhyme came from.

Then, I pulled out a penguin hat and wore it to read Flight School.  I swooped around with the book when penguin finally flies, so it was a lot of fun.

We have a great duck puppet that has five little babies that attach to her with Velcro.  I pulled that out next and sang Five Little Ducks.  The kids even sang with me!  They were also good quackers.

We did the flannel Five Little Bluebirds and then I pulled out my great chicken puppet and the shaker eggs.  I handed out the eggs, and then played Laurie Berkner’s I Know a Chicken.  We followed the directions in the song and danced like crazy with our eggs.

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bird Storytime 11/2/16

  1. Morrisa says:

    This stuff ought to be on video so your readers can join in the fun. Fiddle-de-dee! Or, in this case, Tweet-le-de-dee!

  2. awnali says:

    Well, a few people were either taking pictures or filming, but I’m pretty sure they were more focused on the kids than me 🙂

Leave a Reply

