Thanksgiving Story Time 11-23-16

By Awnali Mills

Okay, so the storytime right before Thanksgiving is a crap shoot.  Is everyone out of town?  Or have all the grandparents come into town, and they’re looking for something to do with the grandkids?  This storytime happened to be the latter.  I had a good sized storytime this morning, and since almost everyone else this week had a quiet storytime a full storytime wasn’t what I was expecting.  Oh, well.  Thankfully, I was prepared!

My books this week were Bear Says Thanks by Karma Wilson and Yellow Time by Lauren Stringer.  I don’t know about at your library, but at ours Thanksgiving books are scarce on the ground for the whole month of November.  So I did one book on thankfulness and one on fall.

My puppet Biscuit started us off with the letter T, and a stuffed turkey.  Then he led us on a rousing chorus of:

Hello Mr. Turkey

(Tune of Happy and You Know It)
“Gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble” says the bird
“Gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble” says the bird
Mr. Turkey gobbles-gobbles and his feet go wobble-wobble.
“Gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble” says the bird

 

Then, we read Bear Says Thanks.  We talked about the foods we eat at Thanksgiving and sang:

Smells Like Thanksgiving (tune: Frere Jacques)

Smells like Thanksgiving

Smells like Thanksgiving

mmmm, mmmm good!

Mmmm, mmmm good!

I can smell the turkey,

I can smell the turkey.

Mmmm, mmmm good!

Mmmm, mmmm good!

(Substitute the names of other Thanksgiving foods)

by Jean Warren

Contrary to preschooler opinion, ice cream does not need to be cooked.  Neither does Christmas.  Just saying.

Then we did an old flannel we’ve had around forever called Piggy Pie.  This is from Mudluscious: Stories and Activities Featuring Food for Preschool Children by Jan Irving & Robin Currie.  Then we did another flannel called Five Nervous Turkeys that I found on Adventures in Storytime and my co-worker thought was so cute that she made it.  Three of us used it this week, so it’s a good ‘un!

Next, I read Yellow Time.  I really liked this book, but it didn’t go over well in storytime.  It’s just not very interactive, and kids were easily distracted.  I wouldn’t use it again.

Because I had started to lose so many kids and they were getting pretty antsy, I went right into some shaker activities.  I did Pop, Pop, Pop and Shake Your Shaker, which I adapted from another rhyme:

Shake Your Shaker

(To the tune of Are You Sleeping?)

 

Shake your shakers, shake your shakers,

Like the leaves, like the leaves

That are falling, that are falling,

From the trees, from the trees.

 

Shake them high, shake them low.

Round about, to and fro.

Shake your shakers, like the leaves.

Falling down, falling down.

 

I had planned to do a Hokey Pokey adaptation called The Turkey Strut, but I ran out of time.  Instead, I sang our goodbye song and pulled out the toys.

Happy Thanksgiving!

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

