Manners Story Time 1/11/17

By Awnali Mills

In response to a request from our Youth Services Coordinator for more material about self-regulation in our programming, I designed today’s storytime to be all about manners.  There are lots of good books out there, but not all of them lend themselves to storytime.  The ones I chose were Emily’s Magic Words by Cindy Post Senning, Please, Mr. Panda by Steve Antony, and Rude Cakes by Rowboat Watkins.

Biscuit brought us an “M” for manners, and a beanbag—because we were going to play a game with a bean bag later.  Then, I had everyone stand up and we did the song Mealtime Manners.

(“If You’re Happy and You Know it”)

Oh, before I eat my meals, I wash my hands,
(scrub, scrub)
Oh, before I eat my meals, I wash my hands,
(scrub, scrub)
Oh, it’s very smart I think,
Sends those germs right down the sink.
Oh, before I eat my meals, I wash my hands.
(scrub, scrub)

Oh, before I eat my meals, I set my place,
(set, set)
Oh, before I eat my meals, I set my place,
(set, set)
I set everything I need,
I feel very proud, indeed.
Oh, before I eat my meals, I set my place.
(set, set)

Oh, before I eat my meals, I pass the food,
(pass the plate)
Oh, before I eat my meals, I pass the food,
(pass the plate)
‘Cause we know it’s only fair
For us all to have our share
Oh, before I eat my meals, I pass the food.

I followed this with Emily’s Words which is all about the magic words that we use to be polite.  Then, we did the song Table Manners.

(“Frere Jacques”)

Chewing quietly, chewing quietly
Do not slurp, do not slurp,
We must say excuse me, We must say excuse me
When we burp,
When we burp.
BURP!  Excuse me! (It is Very Important to burp loudly here.  Just so you know.)

monster-manners

Our next activity was Monster Manners.  I got this from File Folder Fun.  Basically, you print out the monsters and the kids decide whether they are using good manners or bad manners.  Instead of folder pockets, I just printed out papers with a smiley face and a frowning face and made them into pockets.  I held both pockets in one hand, showed the cards and read them, then dropped them in the appropriate pocket.  You could also hand them out.  I considered that, but decided that it wasn’t going to work with my group today.

Then I used 3 mice finger-puppets to do Three Nice Mice.

(“3 Blind Mice”)

3 Nice Mice, 
3 Nice Mice
See how nice they are, see how nice they are
They’re always polite when they nibble their cheese
They never forget to say thank you and please
They cover their noses whenever they sneeze
Ahhh ahhh ahhh-choo! (pretend sneeze)
3 nice mice, 
3 nice mice

Our next book was Please, Mr. Panda.  I really like this book.  At one point, I closed it to talk to the kids about why Mr. Panda is offering everyone doughnuts, but won’t give them to anyone.  We talked about why he was behaving that way.  Was he being rude?  Was he playing a mean joke?  The kids were pretty sure that he just wanted to keep them for himself.  That made the ending a bit of a surprise for them, which was nice.

20170111_122950_hdr

Next, I did the flannel Old King Cole’s Manners. I got the rhyme from the Iowa State Library, and pulled clip art off the ‘net.

Old King Cole was a merry old soul
And a merry old soul was he
He called for his juice
And he called for his snack
And he called for his playthings three
Now,
Old king Cole was a merry old soul
‘Cause he had good manners like you
When he called for his juice
And he called for his snack
He remembered to say “please,” too.
So,
Old king Cole was a merry old soul
And his servants were never blue
When they brought him his juice
And they brought him his snack
He remembered to say “thank you.”

Then I had kids partner up with their adults.  I gave each adult a beanbag, which did NOT go over well with some of the kiddos.  Then, while I sang My Friends and I Like to Share, I had the children and adults pass the beanbags back and forth.  Then the second time, they sang along with me.

(“My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean”)

My friends and I like to share.
It’s what we all like to do.
My friends and I like to share.
We hope that you do, too!
Sharing, Sharing, please won’t you share with me with me
Sharing, Sharing, please won’t you share with me with me

We ended with Rude Cakes.  This was the most problematic of the books I chose, because of all the discussion that goes on between the cakes and the Cyclops.  But it’s such a cute book that I tried it.  It actually went over pretty well, but I would probably substitute How Do Dinosaurs Eat Their Food if I did this again.

After this it was playtime.  Normally, I don’t have more than an occasional problem with children sharing the toys.  This morning?  It was not pretty.  Several children were not playing nicely.  They were the children who were really too young to be in there.  When they didn’t share it really upset the older ones who reported to me that the younger ones Were Not Sharing.  So, yeah.  That was a fail.  On the upside, though, a little boy pulled me to the window to show me the construction trucks across the way and told me that the crane and the trucks were using their good manners because they had to take turns and be polite.  Real world application for storytime principles?  I’ll take that for the win.

Update 3/23/17 –  One of my regular moms told me that my Manners storytime really made a difference in her family.  After the storytime, her daughter went home and began to practice what we’d learned about.  Huzzah!

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Manners Story Time 1/11/17

  1. Sue Van Tassel says:

    Awnali

    This is a great theme. I certainly would like to try it over here.

    Sue

    Sue Van Tassel
    Library Public Services Supervisor, Children’s
    Tuckahoe Area Library
    1901 Starling Drive
    Henrico, VA 23229
    Phone: New (804) 501- 1915
    or (804) 501- 1910 x 4
    Email: svantassel@henricolibrary.org

  2. Sandra says:

    Also like the theme and the selection of books you’ve chosen will share. Well done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

