Soup Storytime 2-1-17

By Awnali Mills

My friend recently sent me some ideas for a soup storytime.  Soup?  Really?  It seemed rather…narrow.  Food, sure.  There’s lots of options for food books.  But soup?

So I did a little research.  Good golly, Miss Molly!  There are tons of things you can do for a soup storytime.  So you know what?  I did one!  The books I chose are Duck Soup by Jackie Urbanovic, Soup for One by Ethan Long, and Is That Wise, Pig? by Jan Thomas.

I brought back my dinosaur puppet, Grumpy.  He brought us the letter S, and we talked about words that start with S.  Then, that hungry puppet ate our soup!  Well, not really, but I had a pot on my cart, and the puppet dove head first into it and made all kinds of slurping sounds before I got him out.  And, no, he was not allowed to eat any children for dessert, even though he asked nicely.

Our first book was Duck Soup.  Then, we sang Noodles in My Soup.

(tune: If You’re Happy and You Know It)
There are noodles, noodles, noodles in my soup,
There are noodles, noodles, noodles in my soup,
There are oodles, oodles, oodles
Of the most delicious noodles,
There are noodles, noodles, noodles in my soup.

Substitute other foods based on children’s responses for the noodles, but keep the third and fourth lines the same.  Just say “and there are oodles…”

This went over so well!  I was actually surprised at how well it went.  Kids couldn’t wait to shout food things at me (balls don’t belong in soup.  Sorry.  Meatballs, though, are fair game.)

Next, we did Pea Soup:

  • Small green pompoms
  • A frying pan or pot

One little pea jumped into the pot,
And waited for the soup to get hot.
Two little peas…
Finally, the soup got so very, very hot,
That all the little peas jumped out of the pot!

I handed green pompoms out to every child (large crowd today, but I had over prepared and had extra.)  Then I said the little rhyme, letting the children add about 4 or 5 peas to the pot at a time as I counted them before finishing the beginning of the rhyme.  When all the children had added their pompoms, I finished the rhyme and popped the pan enough to toss all the “peas” out.  The children shrieked with laughter and scrambled to grab them.  I immediately put the pot back out and told them to put all the peas back in, which successfully corralled the pompoms.

Next we read Soup for One.  Before we started the book, I told the children to be watching for the sneaky spider, that he would be hiding on some of the pages.  As I read through, the children all shouted when they found the spider.  This provided us with lots of opportunities for dialogic reading.

After this, we armed ourselves with imaginary pots and spoons and sang Stir the Soup:

(Row, Row, Row Your Boat)
Stir, stir, stir the soup,
Taste a little sip,
A pinch of this, a bunch of that,
To give a little zip!

Stir, stir, stir the soup
Stir it in the pot
Stir it right and stir it left
Don’t let it get too hot!
–modified from http://mclskids.pbworks.com/w/page/20658637/Soup

Next, I told the story of Stone Soup, using props.  I had a cauldron, a stone, a spoon, and handed out plastic vegetables to most of the kids (promising that the ones that didn’t get veggies would still get to help.)  Then, I told the story, and let kids bring up their veggies and throw them in.  The kids who didn’t have veggies got to “taste” the soup.  This was the first time I had told a story without using a script or a book.  I winged it!  It was great.  The kids were fascinated, and I could hardly get the food in because of them sticking their heads in to look in the pot.

I ran out of time for our last book, which is a shame, because it’s a great soup (and counting) book.  I had to skip straight to our last song, Laurie Berkner’s I Feel Crazy So I Jump in the Soup.  This was a lot of fun to dance to, and we had a great time jumping, splashing and galloping around in our soup.

Give a soup storytime a try, and let me know in the comments how it goes!

This entry was posted in Story Time, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

