Bedtime Storytime 2-8-17

By Awnali Mills

Today’s storytime was bedtime themed.  I planned the theme months ago, and when it came time to get down to the nitty-gritty, I was tired and almost put myself to sleep while choosing books.  Is that a good thing when planning a bedtime storytime?

The books I chose were Chicks Run Wild by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen, Hooray for Today! by Brian Won, and Bedtime for Monsters by Ed Vere.

chicks-run-wildhooray-for-todaybedtime-for-monsters

We started off by talking about one of my personal teddy bears who had come for a visit.  Then we talked about words that started with “B.”  While I had my teddy, we did Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear.

Teddy bear, teddy bear, turn around
Teddy bear, teddy bear, touch the ground
Teddy bear, teddy bear, reach up high
Teddy bear, teddy bear, touch the sky
Teddy bear, teddy bear, touch your knees
Teddy bear, teddy bear, sit down please

Then we read Chicks Run Wild.  My crowd was a bit restless today.  I had one youngster who kept insisting that I tie his shoe while I was reading until finally another parent tied his shoe for him, one who is normally as good as gold who wanted to move my cart around (until her grandmother decided enough was enough), and another very little one who wanted to climb the stack of chairs in the corner (Dad kept retrieving her.)  Despite all of these distractions, the other children seemed glued to the story.  Some days are challenging.

Next, we all “twinkled” our fingers while singing Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star.  Then we did the fingerplay Here Is the Baby from Library Village:

Here is a baby                                  (index finger)
Ready for a nap
Lay her down in her mother’s lap.     (place finger in palm)
Cover her up so she won’t peek.        (curl fingers around index finger)
Rock her till she’s fast asleep.            (rock)

The little man who wanted his shoe tied kept insisting that the index finger was NOT the baby, the pinkie finger was.  *Sigh*  Then I pulled out the flannel Five in a Bed.  This is the traditional “There were five in the bed and the little one said, “Roll over! Roll over! So they all rolled over and one fell off.  There were four in the bed…” and so on.

Next, we read Hooray for Today!.  I had all the kids practice saying “Hooray for today!” and then they echoed me each time I read it.  This was done with much enthusiasm!  Next, I turned on Bouncy Blue’s Five Little Monkeys, and pulled out my string of monkeys that Velcro to each other.  While the music played, we danced around and monkeys fell off the bed.  I love this version of the song.

Our next flannel was Sleepy Cow.

The Sleepy Cow
Inside the barn,
Lying fast asleep,
Were a cow,
And a rooster,
And three little sheep.

In flew an owl
With nothing to do.
Woke everyone up
With a loud,
“WHOO! WHOOO!”
(pause at the end of each line to allow children to make animal sounds)
The sheep said, “Baaa!”
The rooster, “Doodle-doo!”
The sleepy cow yawned
And said, “Oh, Moo!”

Our next book was Bedtime for Monsters.  Some of the children were looking a little worried through the book (and some were delighted), but they all laughed when the monster just wanted to give them disgusting, sloppy goodnight kisses.

To finish, I handed out scarves and put on Brahms Lullaby.  We just danced around with our scarves.  The kids had such a good time with this.  They love getting to play with the scarves and watch them float around.  And having it sanctioned by an adult?  Get outta town!

And NOT ONE child fell asleep on me.  Huh.

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

