Audio Book Review – Wildflower by Drew Barrymore

wildflowerBy Awnali Mills

Sitting here at my desk working on our March craft and then some African storytime flannels, I finished listening to Wildflower by Drew Barrymore, and read by the same.  I picked it up, not because I am a huge Barrymore fan, but because I was facing a long trip and wanted to have an audiobook on my phone for plane/car ride/time in a hospital.  The book popped up in Overdrive as available, and I quickly downloaded it.  I’m so glad I did.

I have enjoyed Drew Barrymore as an actress, but only knew a smattering about her personal life: I’m just not a Hollywood gossip mag kind of gal.  Wildflower is a series of autobiographical essays that span Drew’s entire life, in no particular order.  Some things horrified me, some made me sentimental, and some utterly delighted me.  The author is painfully honest about things in her life, which was mesmerizing, and I enjoyed her writing (and narrating) thoroughly.  Be aware that this audiobook is for adults, and is not suitable for car rides with young children, as Drew’s authenticity extends to her vocabulary.  If her screaming the f-word is going to offend you, then skip this one.  If you aren’t easily offended and enjoy genuine stories of growing up (which are not tied to age), then add this one to your list.

This entry was posted in Book Review, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

