Turtle Storytime 3-1-17

By Awnali Mills

It’s time for turtles, ya’ll!  And to introduce our theme, my T-Rex puppet, Grumpy, brought us a T, and almost gobbled up a tiny turtle (fingerpuppet).  The books I chose today were Hurry Up and Slow Down by Layn Marlow, Turtle Island by Kevin Sherry, and Turtle Splash by Cathryn Falwell (which I didn’t get to).

hurry-up-and-slow-down turtle-island turtle-splash

After Grumpy got us going, I had everyone stand up and sing Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes with me.  First we did it to a regular tempo, then we did it very slowly, and then very fast.  This made a great segue into the story Hurry Up and Slow Down.  During the tortoise parts, my voice was very slow and low, and during the hare parts, my voice was high and fast.  The kids seemed mesmerized by this.

After the book, we practiced our hurry up and slow down moves by dancing to Carole Peterson’s The Freeze.  When everyone sat down again, I used a turtle puppet to do my first version of I Had a Little Turtle.

I had a little turtle
And he lived in a box.
He swam in the water
And he climbed on the rocks.
He snapped at a minnow.
He snapped at a flea.
He snapped at a mosquito.
And he snapped at me!
He caught the minnow.
He caught the flea.
He caught the mosquito.
But he didn’t catch me!

Each time the turtle snapped at something, I had the puppet “snap” at a child, which naturally produced lots of squeals of excitement.

Then I did the flannel Three Eggs in a Basket.

Three Eggs in a Basket
Hide each of the babies under an egg on the board.  When the egg cracks, remove it, exposing the baby underneath.
There were three eggs in a basket.  The first egg started to rock.  Tap, tap, CRACK! (have kids clap for this).  Out came a little chick.
The second egg started to rock.  Tap, tap, CRACK! A duckling popped out.
The third egg began to rock back and forth.  Tap, tap, CRACK!  Out popped a little turtle!  Did you know turtles came from eggs?
Along came a mother hen.  “Where is my baby?” she asked.  Which one is her baby? (match them up.)
Along came a mamma duck.  “Where is my baby?” she asked.  Which one is  her baby?  (match them up.)
Along came a mamma turtle.  “Where is my baby?” she asked.  Which one is her baby? (match them up.)
All of the mothers have found all of their babies!  Yay!

My next book was Turtle Island by Kevin Sherry.  This is actually a pretty sad tale through most of the book.  It has a nice ending, though.  Normally, I wouldn’t go for a sad tale, but the children were completely focused on it. Then we did the fingerplay My Little Turtle:

This is my little turtle.
(Make fist)
He lives alone in a shell.
He likes his little home.
He thinks it’s really swell. He pokes out his head
(Poke out thumb)
When he wants to eat.
Then he pulls it back in.
(Hide thumb in fist)
When he wants to sleep.

Then I put my turtle puppet on my lap and had the kids sing with me I Had a Little Turtle:
I had a little turtle
His name was Tiny Tim
I put him in the bathtub
To see if he could swim.
He drank up all the water
He ate up all the soap
Now he’s sick in bed with a bubble in his throat.
Bubble, bubble, bubble,
Bubble, bubble, POP!  (have kids clap loudly at POP!)
Bubble, bubble, bubble,
Bubble, bubble, POP! (have kids clap loudly at POP!)

Next I did the flannel Five Little Turtles that I got from Storytime Katie.

Five Little Turtles
One little turtle, feeling mighty fine
Sitting by the pond in the bright sunshine
Here’s another turtle that wants to play.
Now 2 happy turtles have a fun day.

2 happy turtles, feeling mighty fine
Swimming in the pond in the bright sunshine.
Here’s another turtle ready to play.
Now 3 happy turtles have a wet day.

3 slow turtles feeling mighty fine!
Blinking their eyes in the bright sunshine.
Here’s another turtle that’s come to play
Now 4 happy turtles have a bright day.

4 green turtles feeling mighty fine,
Resting by the pond in the bright sunshine.
Here’s another turtle ready to play
Now 5 green turtles have a great day.

5 tired turtles feeling might fine
Taking a nap in the bright sunshine.
They had fun together with their turtle play
Now 5 tired turtles slowly walk away.
(count down as you remove each turtle until they’re all off and then wave “goodbye”)

5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Goodbye turtles!

We finished up with the song Beanie Bag Dance by Greg & Steve.  This is another great action song, and the kids had a fantastic time bopping around with their bean bags.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

