Farm Story Time – 3/8/17

By Awnali Mills

Storytime this morning went to the farm.  The books I chose were The Cow Who Clucked by Denise Fleming, Farmyard Beat by Lindsey Craig, and Moo by David LaRochelle.

Cow Who CluckedFarmyard BeatMoo

My large hen puppet and I greeted everyone at the door and got them settled.  Then our hen brought out our letter F, and we talked about words that started with F—including Farm!  Then we practiced our clucking skills, and did a stretch.

I had the kids help me with The Cow Who Clucked.  Almost every page has the refrain, ‘“Cluck, cluck,” said the cow’ and I had them repeat that with me.  This was more or less successful.  The adults did a better job of clucking than the kids did.  The kids were pretty focused on the story.

After that, I had everyone stand up, and we did the song If You Want to Be a Farm Animal.

If You Want to Be a Farm Animal (If You’re Happy and You Know It)

If you want to be a cow, chew your cud. (Make chewing motions with mouth)

If you want to be a cow, chew your cud.

If you want to be a cow,

If you want to be a cow,

If you want to be a cow, chew your cud.

 

If you want to be a hen, flap your wings. (Put hands under armpits and wave elbows up and down)

If you want to be a pig, roll in mud. (Make rolling motions with arms)

If you want to be a sheep, stamp your feet. (Stamp your feet)

If you want to be a horse, trot along. (Prance in place)

 

For each animal, I put a picture on the board while we sang.  The kids really got into being the animals, particularly the pigs.  I had little boys rolling all over the floor (go figure).

Next, I handed out different color sheep and bags of wool flannel pieces, and we did Baa Baa Black Sheep.  The kids brought the different colored sheep up whenever we repeated the rhyme with that color.  Then it was time for the shaker eggs!

I handed out the eggs, and put on Laurie Berkner’s I Know a Chicken.  This is always a crazy popular song.  I had kids shaking all over the room shouting, “I know a chicken!”  After the song was over, I had them keep their eggs, and we practiced holding them still and shaking them to a beat.  I explained to caregivers that practicing the beat of words helped kids understand how syllables worked, so what we were really doing was helping kids get ready to read.  I was really unsure how this next bit would work, but I figured I could give it a shot.

I read Farmyard Beat, and the kids kept a beat with the eggs while I read.  I kept a shaker egg in one hand, and held the beat for them, doing different things with the egg for the different beats.  The kids did SO WELL.  They even stopped when we “shushed” for Farmer Sue—I’m serious!  Not a single shake!  I was so proud of them.

I collected all the eggs, and we were at our stopping time.  However, I adore the book Moo, and I love having kids read it with me, so I pulled it out anyway and we all read it together.  For some reason today, they didn’t think the cow’s antics were nearly as funny as they usually do.  Maybe because I’d pushed my time limit?  Or maybe it was just today’s crowd, since usually kids think it’s hysterical.  This group thought the cow was mean for blaming the sheep.  Oh, well.

This entry was posted in Story Time, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

