Bug Storytime 5-10-17

By Awnali Mills

Today was all about the bugs for storytime.  The books I chose were Bug Bear by Patricia Hegarty, and Bring Me a Rock! By Daniel Miyares

I started off with my bumblebee puppet, and introduced the letter B.  Then I taught the kids the baby bumblebee song.

Bzzzzz (act like there’s a bee buzzing around and then trap it in hands)
I’m bringing home a baby bumble bee (cup hands together as if holding bug)
Won’t my mommy be so proud of me?
I’m bringing home a baby bumble bee
Ouch!  He stung me!

I’m squishing up a baby bumble bee (squish hands together)
Won’t my mommy be so proud of me?
I’m squishing up a baby bumble bee
Yeck! (show dirty hands)

I’m cleaning up a baby bumble bee (wipe hands on clothes)
Won’t my mommy be so proud of me?
I’m cleaning up a baby bumble bee
See?  All clean! (show hands)

Then I read the book Bug Bear.  This is a delightful book about a bug who will not leave a bear alone until owl solves the problem.  I made a finger puppet to wear while telling the story.  Which is absolutely adorable, if I do say so myself.

Bug fingerpuppet

Next we did the flannel story Bug Hunt, which is a take on We’re Going on a Bear Hunt.

Then I used a ladybug finger puppet and taught the kids There’s a Ladybug.

(tune: Oh, My Darling)
There’s a ladybug, there’s a ladybug, there’s a ladybug on me.
On my finger, on my shoulder, now she’s crawling on my knee.

She is tickling, she is tickling.  She is tickling me.
On my finger, on my shoulder, but especially my knee!
by Heather Tekavec

Then I did another flannel, Little Ladybug where we give a ladybug her spots.  Our last book was Bring Me a Rock!  A (locust? Grasshopper?) king demands that his subjects bring him rocks to build him a huge throne.  But when the throne starts to totter, the little bug that brought a rejected pebble saves the day and makes everyone equal again.  I love the art in this book, and the story is very simply told, which makes it great for my group.

Finally, I handed out some bumblebee finger puppets that I made by gluing bee clipart to paper rings.  I wore the big bee again, and we danced to Laurie Berkner’s Bumblebee (Buzz Buzz).

Bee Puppets

This entry was posted in Story Time, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bug Storytime 5-10-17

  1. Morrisa says:

    Sweeeet!!!

Leave a Reply

