Feelings Storytime 6/28/17

By Awnali Mills

It was my first storytime day in the new summer session, and I Just. Wasn’t. Feeling it.  Unfortunately, I don’t think many of my attendees were feeling it, either.  Some days are like that.  The books I chose were Penguin Problems by Jory John and Hooray for Hat by Brian Won.

Penguin ProblemsHooray for Hat

I started with my puppet, Marvin the Monster.  He brought us the letter F, and we talked about words that started with F.  He sang “Feelings, woah, woah, woah, feelings…” to us before I stopped  him, and then showed us what different feelings looked like.

We did an emotional faces flannel, and then sang Old MacDonald Felt So Glad from the Storytime Source Page.

Old MacDonald felt so glad
HA-HA-HA-HA-HA
And when he’s glad he sounds like this:
HA-HA-HA-HA-HA
With a HA-HA here and a HA-HA there
Here a HA, there a HA everywhere a HA-HA
Old MacDonald felt so glad.
HA-HA-HA-HA-HA

Repeat this, substituting the following emotions and sounds:

Grumpy = NO NO NO NO NO
Sad = Boo-hoo-hoo-hoo-hoo!
Silly = Nah-nah-nah-nah-nah

Then I read our first book, Penguin Problems.  Penguin isn’t happy about ANYTHING, and a walrus finally points out all that he has to be grateful for.  The adults loved the book, and one little girl thought it was hilarious.  Everyone else’s eyes seemed to glaze over.

Then we did the flannel Poor Little Baby that I got from Lisa’s Libraryland.  This was followed by If You’re Happy and You Know It.  Our next book was Hooray for Hat.  The kids helped me by chiming in with ”I’m grumpy!” and “Hooray for hat!”  We finished up with a rousing rendition of “Skinnamarink.”

This entry was posted in Story Time and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

