Sick Storytime 7-26-17

By Awnali Mills

I’m playing storytime-blogging-catch-up here.  Bear with me, please!

For this storytime, I started with my puppy puppet.  He wasn’t feeling well—he hurt all over.  Sometimes, bandaids make us feel better, so I handed out felt bandaids (idea from Storytime Katie), and had them bring the different colors up and put them on my puppy.  Once they were all done, he shook them off and was all better.

Our first book was Llama, Lama Home with Mama by Anna Dewdney.

I’ve been learning the ukulele, and this was my first attempt at playing for anyone.  Yep!  I like to risk public humiliation.  So I played my uke for Wash Your Hands from Preschool Education:

Sung To: “Skip to my Lou”

Wash, wash, wash your hands,
Wash, wash, wash your hands,
Wash, wash, wash your hands,
Wash with soap and water.

 

Rinse, rinse, rinse your hands,
Rinse, rinse, rinse your hands,
Rinse, rinse, rinse your hands,
Rinse them under water.

Dry, dry, dry your hands,
Dry, dry, dry your hands,
Dry, dry, dry your hands,
Dry off all the water.

 

Then, we did the flannel All the Little Germs that I got from Loons and Quines.

All the little germs, dirty and mean,

Hiding on your palms, (point to where they’re hiding)

Where they cannot be seen.

Wash them, (rub hands together)

Scrub them, (rub knuckles together)

Rinse them away. (whisk hands across each other) (remove germ)

Then we’ll have clean hands, (hold hands out palm up)

Hip, hip, hooray! (jazz hands!)

 

… Hiding between your fingers,

… Hiding on your thumbs,

… Hiding under nails,

… Hiding on your wrists,

 

Our second book was How Do Dinosaurs Get Well Soon, and then I pulled out the uke and sang The Sneeze Song from Preschool Education.

Sung To: “Farmer In The Dell”

I think I’m going to sneeze ..(ha chew!)
I think I’m going to sneeze ..(ha chew)
If you sneeze, use a tissue please….
Ha Chew, Ha Chew, Ha Chew

 

In an ironic twist of fate, I was sick for this storytime—one I had planned last year.  I smiled and sang and thought, “Please don’t let me throw up on these kids.  Please don’t let me throw up on these kids.”  I tried to stay as far away from them as possible, but when one little boy refused to play unless I sat down and played with him, a bunch of kids came over and tried to sit on top of me as soon as I parked myself on the floor.  And I thought, “Well, at least you know what to do when you’re sick!”  My apologies to all the parents.  I hope everyone has stayed well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

