Robot Storytime

Robots took over story time today!

This was the third robot storytime that I had done, the first two being at outside daycares.  Because it was part of summer reading, I made myself

a robot skirt

robot fabric

and a robot headband.

robot headband

So sue me.  I like getting into character!

if i had a robotboy + botoh no or how my science project

For books, I found “If I Had a Robot” by Dan Yaccarino, “Boy + Bot” by Ame Dyckman, and “Oh, No! or, How my science project destroyed the world” by Mac Barnett.

Before storytime started, I passed out “I’m a Library Kid” stickers that we happened to have on hand, and these became our robot buttons.  During the songs, this is what they pressed.

five-noisy-robots

I used the flannel “Five Noisy Robots” that I created from Falling Flannelboards’ design. 

Robot app

My other activity was using the Toca Robot Lab app.  I don’t have an overhead screen, so we had to do the app like a book.  The way the app works is that you build a robot using one of three pieces each for legs, torso, head, and arms.  Then, you test the robot by flying it around the lab and collect stars, until a conveyer takes it away to be approved.

I briefly explained what we were going to do and then got started.  I asked which part we were going to use each time after describing the parts (the gray one, the yellow one, or the red one?), and took whichever part seemed to be shouted the most.  Then, when the robot was constructed, I flew it around the lab, showed them that it was approved, and we all cheered.

Our songs were:

I’m a Little Robot – Credit:  Anne’s Library Life

[to the tune of I’m a Little Tea Pot]

I’m a little robot, short and strong.
Here are my handles, just turn me on.  (press sticker ‘on’ button)
When I get all warmed up, watch me go.
Sometimes fast, sometime slow.  (march in place fast and slow)

 

If You’re a Robot and You Know It – Credit:  Anne’s Library Life

If you’re a robot and you know it, clank your coils (clap).
If you’re a robot and you know it, clank your coils (clap).
If you’re a robot and you know it, then your face will surely show it.
If you’re a robot and you know it, clank your coils (clap).

…clunk your gears (stomp feet)
…press your buttons (beep, beep)

During playtime after stories, I allowed individual children to create and fly their own robot using the Toca Robot Lab app, making them take turns while I held the ipad and they touched it.  This was VERY popular.

This entry was posted in App, Story Time. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment